Project

General

Profile

09232017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58020 (starting evening of September 23, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Michael Johnson (run manager)
  • Masao Sako (observer 1)
  • Nikolay Kuropatkin (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 58020, date 20170923, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:43 CLST     UT 17:43     SidTim 13:12
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:47 CLST  22:47 UT   18:15  274 deg  
Eve. -10   20:22 CLST  23:22 UT   18:50  282 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:40 CLST  23:40 UT   19:09  287 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:59 CLST  23:59 UT   19:28  292 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:01 CLST  02:01 UT   21:30  322 deg  
Midpoint   01:35 CLST  04:35 UT   00:04    1 deg  
Morn -18   06:10 CLST  09:10 UT   04:39   70 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:28 CLST  09:28 UT   04:57   74 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:48 CLST  09:48 UT   05:17   79 deg  
Sunrise    07:23 CLST  10:23 UT   05:52   88 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 226.5, Dec -11.7 Phase: 0.239

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2017/09/23 23:22'     Local time = 20:22
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.1
    
  • Obstac
  • ToO
  • Special Low-z SN to be started 6 minutes before standards. Script at: ~ExposureScripts/DES_scripts/Sept20-2.json
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2017/09/24 09:28'     Local time = 06:28
    SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
    

When were the last SN fields observed?
hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-E1    short    2017-09-18 01:32:19.026780+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-09-18 01:51:41.394934+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-09-18 04:44:43.500922+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-09-18 04:57:44.658680+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-09-19 05:35:07.798150+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-09-19 05:54:32.579059+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-09-19 06:14:17.406613+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-09-23 04:00:12.752077+00:00
SN-X2    short    2017-09-23 04:19:30.316403+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-09-23 04:39:42.590900+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-09-23 04:59:09.625806+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-09-23 05:20:05.578364+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-09-23 06:28:46.008599+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-09-23 07:04:03.926700+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-09-23 07:17:11.429243+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-09-23 07:41:46.124061+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps