Project

General

Profile

09222017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58019 (starting evening of September 22, 2017)

Full night for DES

Observers

  • Michael Johnson (observer 1)
  • Masao Sako (observer2)
  • Kathy Vivas (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

58019, date 20170922, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 14:57 CLST     UT 17:57     SidTim 13:22
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:46 CLST  22:46 UT   18:11  273 deg  
Eve. -10   20:21 CLST  23:21 UT   18:46  282 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:40 CLST  23:40 UT   19:05  286 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:58 CLST  23:58 UT   19:23  291 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    22:06 CLST  01:06 UT   20:31  308 deg  
Midpoint   01:35 CLST  04:35 UT   00:00    0 deg  
Morn -18   06:12 CLST  09:12 UT   04:37   69 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   04:54   74 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:49 CLST  09:49 UT   05:14   78 deg  
Sunrise    07:24 CLST  10:24 UT   05:49   87 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 214.6, Dec -8.2 Phase: 0.177

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Evening standards
    UT Date = '2017/09/22 23:21'     Local time = 20:21
    SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.1
    
  • Obstac
  • Special Low-z SN to be started 6 minutes before standards. Script at: ~ExposureScripts/DES_scripts/Sept20-2.json
  • Morning standards
    UT Date = '2017/09/23 09:29'     Local time = 06:29
    E4-A                  ra 09:23:44  dec -45:21:02  secz 1.7
    SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
    C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1
    

When were the last SN fields observed?
hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
SN-X2    short    2017-09-12 04:54:01.599752+00:00
SN-C1    short    2017-09-12 08:00:56.603623+00:00
SN-C2    short    2017-09-12 08:20:24.658730+00:00
SN-X1    short    2017-09-12 09:18:13.333426+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2017-09-13 08:36:25.990935+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2017-09-14 04:49:29.430005+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2017-09-14 05:02:27.986441+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2017-09-14 06:07:49.411911+00:00
SN-E1    short    2017-09-18 01:32:19.026780+00:00
SN-E2    short    2017-09-18 01:51:41.394934+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2017-09-18 04:44:43.500922+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2017-09-18 04:57:44.658680+00:00
SN-S2    short    2017-09-19 05:35:07.798150+00:00
SN-S1    short    2017-09-19 05:54:32.579059+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2017-09-19 06:14:17.406613+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2017-09-19 06:48:36.674281+00:00

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps