Project

General

Profile

09-22-2015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57288 (starting evening of Sep 22, 2015)

DES has the full night.

Observers

Manuel Garcia-Fernandez (observer 1)
Anna Barbara Queiroz (observer 2)
Basilio Santiago (run manager)

CTIO Staff

Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
Claudio Aguilera - operator
Rodrigo Hernandez - operator

Almanac

mjd 57288, date 20150922, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 03:31 CLST     UT 06:31     SidTim 01:54
Sunset     19:46 CLST  22:46 UT   SidTim  272 deg  
Eve. -10   20:21 CLST  23:21 UT   SidTim  281 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:39 CLST  23:39 UT   SidTim  286 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:58 CLST  23:58 UT   SidTim  290 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:35 CLST  04:35 UT   SidTim  360 deg  
Moonset    03:53 CLST  06:53 UT   SidTim   34 deg  
Morn -18   06:12 CLST  09:12 UT   SidTim   69 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   SidTim   73 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:50 CLST  09:50 UT   SidTim   78 deg  
Sunrise    07:25 CLST  10:25 UT   SidTim   87 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 292.5, Dec -16.3 Phase: 0.616

Weather Conditions

Clear sky. Humidity a little better than last night, wind down to 10 mph.

Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Beginning of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/22 23:21'     Local time = 20:21
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.1
  • Obstac all night. Moonlight beyond midnight. If seeing is OK z,Y. If seeing is not, then Y only.
    SN in the middle. WF at the end. riz if seeing is good, g if seeing isn’t.
  • Morning standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/23 09:30'     Local time = 06:30
E4-A                  ra 09:23:44  dec -45:21:02  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

There is a way for observers to declare an exposure bad right after it’s finished. It should be used with caution, only on WF, and only after an earthquake.
DESDM: All received, including the backlog from yesterday. Processing is underway and is munching its way through last night. SN processing is not all finished.
SN DQ: so far the short fields are bad and the long fields are good. We’ll see what happens to X3z, though. Yes on the defocus procedure. Let’s keep lookin’ up and let’s be careful out there.

Other Notes

When were the SN fields last observed?

(after survey table update on 20:00 CLT)

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-X1    short    2015-09-13 04:58:50.414396+00:00
SN-X2    short    2015-09-13 07:09:42.924741+00:00
SN-E1    short    2015-09-18 02:11:33.300504+00:00
SN-E2    short    2015-09-18 03:05:50.420648+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2015-09-18 06:35:11.032554+00:00
SN-S2    short    2015-09-19 07:46:16.593701+00:00
SN-C2    short    2015-09-19 08:06:59.958757+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2015-09-19 08:26:40.443561+00:00
SN-C1    short    2015-09-21 06:03:12.067652+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2015-09-22 04:19:03.200579+00:00
SN-C3    long_z    2015-09-22 04:33:16.216080+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2015-09-22 05:41:31.224185+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2015-09-22 06:05:32.355757+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2015-09-22 06:19:40.095400+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2015-09-22 06:53:54.333189+00:00
SN-S1    short    2015-09-22 08:05:26.793939+00:0