Project

General

Profile

09212018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58382 (starting evening of September 21, 2018)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Alyssa Garcia (observer 1)
  • Spencer Everett (observer 2)
  • Alyssa Garcia (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

mjd 58383, date 20180921, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:58 CLST     UT 18:58     SidTim 14:18
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:45 CLST  22:45 UT   18:05  271 deg  
Eve. -10   20:20 CLST  23:20 UT   18:40  280 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:39 CLST  23:39 UT   18:59  285 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:58 CLST  23:58 UT   19:18  290 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:35 CLST  04:35 UT   23:55  359 deg  
Morn -18   06:13 CLST  09:13 UT   04:33   68 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Moonset    06:16 CLST  09:16 UT   04:36   69 deg  
Morn -14   06:31 CLST  09:31 UT   04:51   73 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:51 CLST  09:51 UT   05:11   78 deg  
Sunrise    07:26 CLST  10:26 UT   05:46   86 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 328.5, Dec -14.3 Phase: 0.823

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:36 CLT to 06:52 CLT
  • Standards
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover (griz)

UT Date = '2018/09/22 4:35'     Local time = 01:35
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8

  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • If bad seeing (>1.6 arcsec) and clear: Photosweeps
  • If really bad seeing (>2.0 arcsec) or not clear: Narrowband
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
Standards for Morning Twilight 

UT Date = '2018/09/22 9:31'     Local time = 06:31
E4-A                  ra 09:23:44  dec -45:21:02  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.0

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from (yesterday's) 4PM Meeting

Same plan as last night (but hopefully better results!)

Other Notes

None