Project

General

Profile

09-21-2015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57287 (starting evening of Sep 21, 2015)

DES has the full night.

Observers

Anna Barbara Queiroz (observer 1)
Manuel Garcia-Fernandez (observer 2)
Basilio Santiago (run manager)

CTIO Staff

Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
Claudio Aguilera - operator
Rodrigo Hernandez - operator

Almanac

mjd 57287, date 20150921, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 05:01 CLST     UT 08:01     SidTim 03:20
Sunset     19:45 CLST  22:45 UT   SidTim  271 deg  
Eve. -10   20:20 CLST  23:20 UT   SidTim  280 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:39 CLST  23:39 UT   SidTim  284 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:58 CLST  23:58 UT   SidTim  289 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:36 CLST  04:36 UT   SidTim  359 deg  
Moonset    03:02 CLST  06:02 UT   SidTim   20 deg  
Morn -18   06:14 CLST  09:14 UT   SidTim   68 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:31 CLST  09:31 UT   SidTim   72 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:51 CLST  09:51 UT   SidTim   78 deg  
Sunrise    07:26 CLST  10:26 UT   SidTim   86 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 278.4, Dec -17.5 Phase: 0.542

Weather Conditions

Clear sky.
Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Beginning of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/21 23:20'     Local time = 20:20
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.1
  • Obstac all night. C3g, C3z, x3g, x3r in deadman. Will get some gri at the end of the night.
  • Morning standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/22 09:31'     Local time = 06:31
E4-A                  ra 09:23:44  dec -45:21:02  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.0

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

The telescope is back to 2 encoders. Data is still be transferred, 290 left to go. But are caught up from the weekend. NO SN manifests are delivered. It is possible for DESDM to use the spare C1g-band. SN previous night 9/18 x1 images are terrible. Marisa declared them junk. C1g from last night has 2 possibilitites for g-band.

The weather is perfect. No ToO. Bright early on. Dark late in the night. Let's be careful out there.

Other Notes

When were the SN fields last observed?

hex_name     seqtype     last_complete
SN-C3    long_z    2015-09-12 07:43:10.006001+00:00
SN-X3    long_r    2015-09-13 05:12:03.453772+00:00
SN-C3    long_g    2015-09-13 05:55:43.368258+00:00
SN-X3    long_g    2015-09-13 06:10:54.455087+00:00
SN-E1    short    2015-09-18 02:11:33.300504+00:00
SN-E2    short    2015-09-18 03:05:50.420648+00:00
SN-X3    long_i    2015-09-18 04:32:40.384517+00:00
SN-X3    long_z    2015-09-18 05:06:51.597228+00:00
SN-S1    short    2015-09-18 06:14:36.034244+00:00
SN-C3    long_r    2015-09-18 06:35:11.032554+00:00
SN-S2    short    2015-09-19 07:46:16.593701+00:00
SN-C2    short    2015-09-19 08:06:59.958757+00:00
SN-C3    long_i    2015-09-19 08:26:40.443561+00:00
SN-X1    short    2015-09-21 05:03:07.125109+00:00
SN-X2    short    2015-09-21 05:28:54.866011+00:00
SN-C1    short    2015-09-21 06:03:12.067652+00:0