Project

General

Profile

SV Notes for MJD 56556 (starting evening of Sept 21, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Dietrich Soumagnac MacCrann Honscheid / Eliot

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56557, date 20130921, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 23:37 CLST     UT 02:37     SidTim 21:58
Sunset     19:45 CLST  22:45 UT   SidTim  272 deg  
Eve. -10   20:20 CLST  23:20 UT   SidTim  280 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:39 CLST  23:39 UT   SidTim  285 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:58 CLST  23:58 UT   SidTim  290 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   22:05 CLST  01:05 UT   SidTim  306 deg  
Midpoint   01:35 CLST  04:35 UT   SidTim  359 deg  
Morn -18   06:13 CLST  09:13 UT   SidTim   68 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   SidTim   73 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:50 CLST  09:50 UT   SidTim   78 deg  
Sunrise    07:25 CLST  10:25 UT   SidTim   86 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 31.3, Dec 13.6 Phase: 0.833

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links variable cloud, cold

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

Afternoon:
  1. Standard bias and dome flat sequence during afternoon.
  2. Dome open for temperature equilibration at earliest appropriate time
Prioritization for tonight's observations:
  1. Standard stars if photometric.
  2. Make sure obstac keeps filling queue and SISPI keeps loading exposures.
  3. Monitor pointing and offseting behavior during SN observations.
  4. Morning standards, if photometric

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments:
  1. Monitor ObsTac.
  2. Expect lots of y-band after moon rises at 22.05. Some SN if seeing is bad