Project

General

Profile

09202018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58382 (starting evening of September 20, 2018)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Alyssa Garcia (observer 1)
  • Spencer Everett (observer 2)
  • Spencer Everett (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

mjd 58382, date 20180920, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:45 CLST  22:45 UT   18:01  270 deg  
Eve. -10   20:20 CLST  23:20 UT   18:36  279 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:38 CLST  23:38 UT   18:54  284 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   19:13  288 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:36 CLST  04:36 UT   23:52  358 deg  
Moonset    05:38 CLST  08:38 UT   03:54   58 deg  
Morn -18   06:15 CLST  09:15 UT   04:31   68 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:32 CLST  09:32 UT   04:48   72 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:52 CLST  09:52 UT   05:08   77 deg  
Sunrise    07:27 CLST  10:27 UT   05:43   86 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 316.3, Dec -17.1 Phase: 0.760

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:36 CLT to 06:52 CLT
  • Standards
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover (griz)

UT Date = '2018/09/21 4:36'     Local time = 01:36
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9

  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • If bad seeing (>1.6 arcsec) and clear: Photosweeps
  • If really bad seeing (>2.0 arcsec) or not clear: Narrowband
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
Standards for Morning Twilight 

UT Date = '2018/09/21 9:32'     Local time = 06:32
E4-A                  ra 09:23:44  dec -45:21:02  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from (yesterday's) 4PM Meeting

Same plan as last night (but hopefully better results!)

Other Notes

None