Project

General

Profile

09-20-2015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57286 (starting evening of Sep 20, 2015)

DES has the full night.

Observers

Anna Barbara Queiroz (observer 1)
Manuel Garcia-Fernandez (observer 2)
Basilio Santiago (run manager)

CTIO Staff

Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
Claudio Aguilera - operator
Rodrigo Hernandez - operator

Almanac

mjd 57286, date 20150920, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:39 CLST     UT 19:39     SidTim 14:54
Sunset     19:45 CLST  22:45 UT   SidTim  270 deg  
Eve. -10   20:20 CLST  23:20 UT   SidTim  278 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:38 CLST  23:38 UT   SidTim  283 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:57 CLST  23:57 UT   SidTim  288 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:36 CLST  04:36 UT   SidTim  358 deg  
Moonset    02:10 CLST  05:10 UT   SidTim    6 deg  
Morn -18   06:15 CLST  09:15 UT   SidTim   68 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:32 CLST  09:32 UT   SidTim   72 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:52 CLST  09:52 UT   SidTim   77 deg  
Sunrise    07:27 CLST  10:27 UT   SidTim   86 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 264.6, Dec -17.6 Phase: 0.470

Weather Conditions

Half-clear sky.
Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Beginning of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/20 23:20'     Local time = 20:20
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec  00:00:00  secz 1.7
E9-A                  ra 22:45:37  dec -44:22:47  secz 1.6
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.1
  • Obstac 20:38 CLT to 03:29 CLT
  • ToO 03:29 CLT to 06:32 CLT
  • Morning standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/21 09:32'     Local time = 06:32
E4-A                  ra 09:23:44  dec -45:21:02  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

A new set of JSONs are sent in to the mountaintop. It's the GW stuff minus the LMS exposures. TOO observations would start at 6:29 UT (3:29 local). 10 minutes early on the TOO. Up to 10 minutes before the TOO let a short SN sequence start. If it's a long sequence stop OBSTAC and start the TOO early. GW is propid 2015B-0187. Hopefully we finish C3z; priority over TOOs.

Other Notes

When were the SN fields last observed?

hex_name    seqtype     last_complete
SN-C3 long_z 2015-09-12 07:43:10.006001+00:00
SN-X1 short 2015-09-13 05:06:28.982261+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2015-09-13 05:12:03.453772+00:00
SN-C1 short 2015-09-13 05:36:05.207316+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2015-09-13 05:55:43.368258+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2015-09-13 06:10:54.455087+00:00
SN-X2 short 2015-09-13 07:09:42.924741+00:00
SN-E1 short 2015-09-18 02:11:33.300504+00:00
SN-E2 short 2015-09-18 03:05:50.420648+00:00
SN-X3 long_i 2015-09-18 04:32:40.384517+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2015-09-18 05:06:51.597228+00:00
SN-S1 short 2015-09-18 06:14:36.034244+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2015-09-18 06:35:11.032554+00:00
SN-S2 short 2015-09-19 07:46:16.593701+00:00
SN-C2 short 2015-09-19 08:06:59.958757+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2015-09-19 08:26:40.443561+00:00