Project

General

Profile

09192018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58381 (starting evening of September 19, 2018)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Alyssa Garcia (observer 1)
  • Spencer Everett (observer 2)
  • Spencer Everett (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

mjd 58381, date 20180919, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:44 CLST  22:44 UT   17:56  269 deg  
Eve. -10   20:19 CLST  23:19 UT   18:31  278 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:38 CLST  23:38 UT   18:50  282 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   19:09  287 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:36 CLST  04:36 UT   23:48  357 deg  
Moonset    04:58 CLST  07:58 UT   03:10   48 deg  
Morn -18   06:16 CLST  09:16 UT   04:28   67 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:33 CLST  09:33 UT   04:45   71 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:53 CLST  09:53 UT   05:05   76 deg  
Sunrise    07:28 CLST  10:28 UT   05:40   85 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 303.9, Dec -19.2 Phase: 0.695

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:36 CLT to 06:53 CLT
  • Standards
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover (griz)

UT Date = '2018/09/20 4:36'     Local time = 01:36
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9

  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • If bad seeing (>1.6 arcsec) and clear: Photosweeps
  • If really bad seeing (>2.0 arcsec) or not clear: Narrowband
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
Standards for Morning Twilight 

UT Date = '2018/09/20 9:33'     Local time = 06:33
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from (yesterday's) 4PM Meeting

Same plan as last night.

Other Notes

None