Project

General

Profile

09192015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57285 (starting evening of Sep 19, 2015)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Alex Kim (observer 1)
  • Manuel Garcia-Fernandez (observer 2)
  • Devon Hollowood (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57285, date 20150919, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:51 CLST     UT 18:51     SidTim 14:02
Sunset     19:44 CLST  22:44 UT   SidTim  269 deg  
Eve. -10   20:19 CLST  23:19 UT   SidTim  278 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:38 CLST  23:38 UT   SidTim  282 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   SidTim  287 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    01:17 CLST  04:17 UT   SidTim  352 deg  
Midpoint   01:36 CLST  04:36 UT   SidTim  357 deg  
Morn -18   06:16 CLST  09:16 UT   SidTim   67 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:34 CLST  09:34 UT   SidTim   71 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:54 CLST  09:54 UT   SidTim   76 deg  
Sunrise    07:28 CLST  10:28 UT   SidTim   85 deg  

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES 20:18 CLT to 06:56 CLT
  • Beginning of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/19 23:19'     Local time = 20:19
SDSSJ1442-0005        ra 14:42:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 2.1
E9-A                  ra 22:45:37  dec -44:22:47  secz 1.6
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.1
  • Obstac
  • morning standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/20 09:16'     Local time = 06:16
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

  • Many SN fields on deadman
  • No LIGO tonight
  • Obstac plan: redder filters until 1:10 local, SN fields to 4:10 local, gri filters afterwards
  • Word of the Day: "Lets Hope for Clear Skies!"

Other Notes

  • When were the SN fields last observered?
    hex_name    seqtype     last_complete
    SN-C3       long_z      2015-09-12 07:43:10.006001+00:00
    SN-X1       short       2015-09-13 05:06:28.982261+00:00
    SN-X3       long_r      2015-09-13 05:12:03.453772+00:00
    SN-C1       short       2015-09-13 05:36:05.207316+00:00
    SN-C3       long_g      2015-09-13 05:55:43.368258+00:00
    SN-X3       long_g      2015-09-13 06:10:54.455087+00:00
    SN-X2       short       2015-09-13 07:09:42.924741+00:00
    SN-E1       short       2015-09-18 02:11:33.300504+00:00
    SN-E2       short       2015-09-18 03:05:50.420648+00:00
    SN-X3       long_i      2015-09-18 04:32:40.384517+00:00
    SN-X3       long_z      2015-09-18 05:06:51.597228+00:00
    SN-S1       short       2015-09-18 06:14:36.034244+00:00
    SN-C3       long_r      2015-09-18 06:35:11.032554+00:00
    SN-S2       short       2015-09-19 07:46:16.593701+00:00
    SN-C2       short       2015-09-19 08:06:59.958757+00:00
    SN-C3       long_i      2015-09-19 08:26:40.443561+00:00