Project

General

Profile

09182018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58380 (starting evening of September 18, 2018)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Alyssa Garcia (observer 1)
  • Spencer Everett (observer 2)
  • Spencer Everett (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

mjd 58380, date 20180918, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:44 CLST  22:44 UT   17:52  268 deg  
Eve. -10   20:19 CLST  23:19 UT   18:27  277 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:37 CLST  23:37 UT   18:45  281 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   19:04  286 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:37 CLST  04:37 UT   23:45  356 deg  
Moonset    04:14 CLST  07:14 UT   02:22   36 deg  
Morn -18   06:17 CLST  09:17 UT   04:25   66 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:35 CLST  09:35 UT   04:43   71 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:55 CLST  09:55 UT   05:03   76 deg  
Sunrise    07:29 CLST  10:29 UT   05:37   84 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 291.3, Dec -20.3 Phase: 0.629

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:37 CLT to 06:55 CLT
  • Standards
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover (griz)

UT Date = '2018/09/19 4:37'     Local time = 01:37
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9

  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • If bad seeing (>1.6 arcsec) and clear: Photosweeps
  • If really bad seeing (>2.0 arcsec) or not clear: Narrowband
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
Standards for Morning Twilight 

UT Date = '2018/09/19 9:35'     Local time = 06:35
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from (yesterday's) 4PM Meeting

Same plan as last night. Pupil ghosts on narrowband Ok (but will need new calibration images).

Other Notes

None