Project

General

Profile

09182015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57284 (starting evening of Sep 18, 2015)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Manuel Garcia-Fernandez (observer 1)
  • Alex Kim (observer 2)
  • Devon Hollowood (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57284, date 20150918, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:55 CLST     UT 18:55     SidTim 14:02
Sunset     19:44 CLST  22:44 UT   SidTim  268 deg  
Eve. -10   20:18 CLST  23:18 UT   SidTim  276 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:37 CLST  23:37 UT   SidTim  281 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:56 CLST  23:56 UT   SidTim  286 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    00:24 CLST  03:24 UT   SidTim  338 deg  
Midpoint   01:37 CLST  04:37 UT   SidTim  356 deg  
Morn -18   06:18 CLST  09:18 UT   SidTim   66 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:35 CLST  09:35 UT   SidTim   70 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:55 CLST  09:55 UT   SidTim   76 deg  
Sunrise    07:30 CLST  10:30 UT   SidTim   84 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 238.6, Dec -15.2 Phase: 0.335

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES 20:18 CLT to 06:56 CLT
  • Beginning of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
SDSSJ1442-0005        ra 14:42:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 2.0
E9-A                  ra 22:45:37  dec -44:22:47  secz 1.6
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.1
  • Obstac
  • morning standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/19 9:35'     Local time = 06:35
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

  •  Camera and Telescope - Camera looks okay, still running under one encoder.
  •  Last Night - Use log book more. LIGO fields were in reverse order. Lost 2 hours due to encoder problem. Loss of C3 field's last exposure didn't lose us the field altogether.
  • DESDM & DQ - C3 field assessed as good despite loss of last exposure.
  • Forecast/Plan for Tonight - Overcast skies. C2, C3i,z and S2 in deadman. Running supernova fields have priority over LIGO, LIGO has priority over non-running SN fields. Up to observers to optimize and eliminate all deadtime. LIGO fields are supposed to start at 05:53 local, but may start up to 15 minutes early. C3Z will take an hour, C3I slightly less. C2/S2 have priority over C1/S1, and will take ~15 minutes.

Other Notes

  • When were the SN fields last observered?
    hex_name    seqtype     last_complete
    SN-S2       short       2015-09-12 07:22:38.092039+00:00
    SN-C3       long_z      2015-09-12 07:43:10.006001+00:00
    SN-C3       long_i      2015-09-12 08:50:47.646672+00:00
    SN-C2       short       2015-09-12 09:25:00.543599+00:00
    SN-X1       short       2015-09-13 04:52:28.072487+00:00
    SN-X3       long_r      2015-09-13 05:12:03.453772+00:00
    SN-C1       short       2015-09-13 05:36:05.207316+00:00
    SN-C3       long_g      2015-09-13 05:55:43.368258+00:00
    SN-X3       long_g      2015-09-13 06:10:54.455087+00:00
    SN-X2       short       2015-09-13 07:09:42.924741+00:00
    SN-E1       short       2015-09-18 02:11:33.300504+00:00
    SN-E2       short       2015-09-18 03:05:50.420648+00:00
    SN-X3       long_i      2015-09-18 04:32:40.384517+00:00
    SN-X3       long_z      2015-09-18 05:06:51.597228+00:00
    SN-S1       short       2015-09-18 06:14:36.034244+00:00
    SN-C3       long_r      2015-09-18 06:35:11.032554+00:00
    SN-X2       short       2015-09-13 07:09:42.924741+00:00