Project

General

Profile

09172018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58379 (starting evening of September 17, 2018)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Alyssa Garcia (observer 1)
  • Spencer Everett (observer 2)
  • Spencer Everett (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

Almanac

Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:43 CLST  22:43 UT   17:47  267 deg  
Eve. -10   20:18 CLST  23:18 UT   18:22  276 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:37 CLST  23:37 UT   18:41  280 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   19:00  285 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:37 CLST  04:37 UT   23:41  355 deg  
Moonset    03:26 CLST  06:26 UT   01:30   22 deg  
Morn -18   06:19 CLST  09:19 UT   04:23   66 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:36 CLST  09:36 UT   04:40   70 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:56 CLST  09:56 UT   05:00   75 deg  
Sunrise    07:31 CLST  10:31 UT   05:35   84 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 278.5, Dec -20.5 Phase: 0.563

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:37 CLT to 06:56 CLT
  • Standards
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover (griz)

UT Date = '2018/09/17 4:37'     Local time = 01:37
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • If bad seeing (>1.6 arcsec) and clear: Photosweeps
  • If really bad seeing (>2.0 arcsec) or not clear: Narrowband
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
Standards for Morning Twilight 

UT Date = '2018/09/18 9:36'     Local time = 06:36
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.1

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from (yesterday's) 4PM Meeting

Same plan as last night. If going to narrowband while moon is out, see if there is a noticeable effect on quality.

Other Notes

None