Project

General

Profile

09172015 » History » Version 4

Version 3 (Alex Kim, 09/17/2015 02:22 PM) → Version 4/6 (Alex Kim, 09/17/2015 02:23 PM)

h1. 09172015

h2. Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57283 (starting evening of Sep 17, 2015)

DES has the full night.

h3. Observers

* Manuel Garcia-Fernandez (observer 1)
* Devon Hollowood (observer 2)
* Alex Kim (run manager)

h3. CTIO Staff

* Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
* Alberto Alvarez - operator
* "Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule

h3. Almanac

<pre>
mjd 57283, date 20150917, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:59 CLST UT 16:59 SidTim 12:02
Sunset 19:43 CLST 22:43 UT SidTim 266 deg
Eve. -10 20:18 CLST 23:18 UT SidTim 275 deg Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14 20:36 CLST 23:36 UT SidTim 280 deg Begin obstac
Eve. -18 20:55 CLST 23:55 UT SidTim 284 deg Last chance standards
Moonset 23:31 CLST 02:31 UT SidTim 324 deg
Midpoint 01:37 CLST 04:37 UT SidTim 355 deg
Morn -18 06:19 CLST 09:19 UT SidTim 66 deg Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std 06:36 CLST 09:36 UT SidTim 70 deg End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10 06:56 CLST 09:56 UT SidTim 75 deg
Sunrise 07:31 CLST 10:31 UT SidTim 84 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 226.4, Dec -13.0 Phase: 0.271
</pre>

h3. Weather Conditions

* Clear but clouds incoming.
* "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satelite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php

h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

* DES 20:18 CLT to 06:56 CLT

* Beginning of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]

<pre>
UT Date = '2015/09/17 23:18' Local time = 20:18
SDSSJ2140-0000 ra 21:40:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.8
E6-A ra 14:45:33 dec -45:15:34 secz 1.4
E8-A ra 20:07:22 dec -44:37:01 secz 1.1
</pre>

* Obstac

* morning standards [grizY ordered scripts]

<pre>
UT Date = '2015/09/18 9:36' Local time = 06:36
SDSSJ0100-0000 ra 01:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 2.0
SDSSJ0200-0000 ra 02:00:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000 ra 03:20:00 dec +00:00:00 secz 1.2
</pre>

h3. Useful links

"Nightsum":http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/ | "CTIO Night Report":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/noao/node/add/night-report | "DECam Logbook":http://system1.ctio.noao.edu:8080/ECL/decam/E/index
"Tololo Environmental Web Page":http://139.229.115.231/web/tololo_frame.html | "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satelite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php

h2. Notes from the 4PM Meeting

*  Camera and Telescope - Everything looks OK after checked in the morning. Observations should be OK for tonight.
*  Last Night - No observations due to earthquake. CO2 canisters overturned.
* DESDM & DQ - Catching up.
* Forecast/Plan for Tonight - Clear skies. Start with izY with moon. Switch to gri. 1:30 12:30 SN X3i 3z, S1, C3r fields. SN fields should finish 3:43. First LIGO sequences at 3:53 am.
Last time slots with LMC for short exposures. LMC priority over last exposure. Priority is X3i, X3z, gravity, then other SN fields. Do standard stars as usual.

h2. Other Notes

* "When were the SN fields last observered?":https://cdcvs.fnal.gov/redmine/projects/desops/wiki/When_were_the_SN_fields_last_observed
<pre>
hex_name seqtype last_complete
SN-X3 long_i 2015-09-08 08:12:34.924511+00:00
SN-X3 long_z 2015-09-08 08:46:41.064389+00:00
SN-C3 long_r 2015-09-11 07:46:29.777327+00:00
SN-S1 short 2015-09-11 09:09:54.635815+00:00
SN-E1 short 2015-09-12 02:04:10.918762+00:00
SN-S2 short 2015-09-12 07:22:38.092039+00:00
SN-C3 long_z 2015-09-12 07:43:10.006001+00:00
SN-C3 long_i 2015-09-12 08:50:47.646672+00:00
SN-C2 short 2015-09-12 09:25:00.543599+00:00
SN-E2 short 2015-09-13 04:26:58.318843+00:00
SN-X1 short 2015-09-13 04:52:28.072487+00:00
SN-X3 long_r 2015-09-13 05:12:03.453772+00:00
SN-C1 short 2015-09-13 05:36:05.207316+00:00
SN-C3 long_g 2015-09-13 05:55:43.368258+00:00
SN-X3 long_g 2015-09-13 06:10:54.455087+00:00
SN-X2 short 2015-09-13 07:09:42.924741+00:00
</pre>