Project

General

Profile

09172015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57283 (starting evening of Sep 17, 2015)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Manuel Garcia-Fernandez (observer 1)
  • Devon Hollowood (observer 2)
  • Alex Kim (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57283, date 20150917, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:59 CLST     UT 16:59     SidTim 12:02
Sunset     19:43 CLST  22:43 UT   SidTim  266 deg  
Eve. -10   20:18 CLST  23:18 UT   SidTim  275 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:36 CLST  23:36 UT   SidTim  280 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   SidTim  284 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:31 CLST  02:31 UT   SidTim  324 deg  
Midpoint   01:37 CLST  04:37 UT   SidTim  355 deg  
Morn -18   06:19 CLST  09:19 UT   SidTim   66 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:36 CLST  09:36 UT   SidTim   70 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:56 CLST  09:56 UT   SidTim   75 deg  
Sunrise    07:31 CLST  10:31 UT   SidTim   84 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 226.4, Dec -13.0 Phase: 0.271

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES 20:18 CLT to 06:56 CLT
  • Beginning of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/17 23:18'     Local time = 20:18
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
E6-A                  ra 14:45:33  dec -45:15:34  secz 1.4
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.1
  • Obstac
  • morning standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/18 9:36'     Local time = 06:36
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

  •  Camera and Telescope - Everything looks OK after checked in the morning. Observations should be OK for tonight.
  •  Last Night - No observations due to earthquake. CO2 canisters overturned.
  • DESDM & DQ - Catching up.
  • Forecast/Plan for Tonight - Clear skies. Start with izY with moon. Switch to gri. 1:30 SN X3i 3z, S1, C3r fields. SN fields should finish 3:43. First LIGO sequences at 3:53 am.
    Last time slots with LMC for short exposures. LMC priority over last exposure. Priority is X3i, X3z, gravity, then other SN fields. Do standard stars as usual.

Other Notes

  • When were the SN fields last observered?
    hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
    SN-X3    long_i    2015-09-08 08:12:34.924511+00:00
    SN-X3    long_z    2015-09-08 08:46:41.064389+00:00
    SN-C3    long_r    2015-09-11 07:46:29.777327+00:00
    SN-S1    short    2015-09-11 09:09:54.635815+00:00
    SN-E1    short    2015-09-12 02:04:10.918762+00:00
    SN-S2    short    2015-09-12 07:22:38.092039+00:00
    SN-C3    long_z    2015-09-12 07:43:10.006001+00:00
    SN-C3    long_i    2015-09-12 08:50:47.646672+00:00
    SN-C2    short    2015-09-12 09:25:00.543599+00:00
    SN-E2    short    2015-09-13 04:26:58.318843+00:00
    SN-X1    short    2015-09-13 04:52:28.072487+00:00
    SN-X3    long_r    2015-09-13 05:12:03.453772+00:00
    SN-C1    short    2015-09-13 05:36:05.207316+00:00
    SN-C3    long_g    2015-09-13 05:55:43.368258+00:00
    SN-X3    long_g    2015-09-13 06:10:54.455087+00:00
    SN-X2    short    2015-09-13 07:09:42.924741+00:00