Project

General

Profile

SV Notes for MJD 56552 (starting evening of Sept 17, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Plazas Soumagnac MacCrann Honscheid / Eliot

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56553, date 20130917, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:56 CLST     UT 19:56     SidTim 15:02
Sunset     19:43 CLST  22:43 UT   SidTim  267 deg  
Eve. -10   20:18 CLST  23:18 UT   SidTim  276 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:37 CLST  23:37 UT   SidTim  280 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   SidTim  285 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:37 CLST  04:37 UT   SidTim  356 deg  
Morn -18   06:18 CLST  09:18 UT   SidTim   66 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:36 CLST  09:36 UT   SidTim   70 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Moonset    06:46 CLST  09:46 UT   SidTim   73 deg  
Morn -10   06:56 CLST  09:56 UT   SidTim   75 deg  
Sunrise    07:30 CLST  10:30 UT   SidTim   84 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 338.4, Dec -3.7 Phase: 0.895

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links overcast

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

Afternoon:
  1. Standard bias and dome flat sequence during afternoon.
  2. Dome open for temperature equilibration at earliest appropriate time
Prioritization for tonight's observations:
  1. Standard stars if photometric.
  2. Make sure obstac keeps filling queue and SISPI keeps loading exposures.
  3. Monitor pointing and offseting behavior during SN observations.
  4. Morning standards, if photometric

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments:
  1. Monitor ObsTac.
    Expect lots of y-band because the Moon is right in the face the first half
    of night. Later i and z, and SN fields if seeing is bad.