Project

General

Profile

09162018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58378 (starting evening of September 16, 2018)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Spencer Everett (observer 1)
  • Dragan Huterer (observer 2)
  • Spencer Everett (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Humberto Orrego - Obs. Support
  • Javier Roja - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 58378, date 20180916, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:43 CLST  22:43 UT   17:43  266 deg  
Eve. -10   20:17 CLST  23:17 UT   18:18  274 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:36 CLST  23:36 UT   18:36  279 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   18:55  284 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:37 CLST  04:37 UT   23:38  354 deg  
Moonset    02:35 CLST  05:35 UT   00:36    9 deg  
Morn -18   06:20 CLST  09:20 UT   04:20   65 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:37 CLST  09:37 UT   04:37   69 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:57 CLST  09:57 UT   04:57   74 deg  
Sunrise    07:32 CLST  10:32 UT   05:32   83 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 265.7, Dec -19.8 Phase: 0.496

Weather Conditions

  • Mostly clear, a few high clouds in the afternoon. Should be a clear night except for the final hour.
  • Light wind predicted, but severe wind the past few nights.
  • Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:37 CLT to 06:57 CLT
  • Standards
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover (griz)

UT Date = '2018/09/17 4:37'     Local time = 01:37
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • If bad seeing (>1.6 arcsec) and clear: Photosweeps
  • If really bad seeing (>2.0 arcsec) or not clear: Narrowband
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
Standards for Morning Twilight 

UT Date = '2018/09/17 9:57'     Local time = 06:57
SDSSJ0843-0000        ra 08:43:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.1

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from (yesterday's) 4PM Meeting

Same plan as last night, aim for wide-field at borderline seeing.

Other Notes