Project

General

Profile

09162015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57282 (starting evening of Sep 16, 2015)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Ofer Lahav (observer 1)
  • Devon Hollowood (observer 2)
  • Alex Kim (run manager)
  • Manuel Garcia-Fernandez (acclimating future observer)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57282, date 20150916, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:41 CLST     UT 18:41     SidTim 13:40
Sunset     19:42 CLST  22:42 UT   SidTim  266 deg  
Eve. -10   20:17 CLST  23:17 UT   SidTim  274 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:36 CLST  23:36 UT   SidTim  279 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   SidTim  284 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    22:38 CLST  01:38 UT   SidTim  309 deg  
Midpoint   01:37 CLST  04:37 UT   SidTim  354 deg  
Morn -18   06:20 CLST  09:20 UT   SidTim   65 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:37 CLST  09:37 UT   SidTim   69 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:57 CLST  09:57 UT   SidTim   74 deg  
Sunrise    07:32 CLST  10:32 UT   SidTim   83 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 214.6, Dec -10.2 Phase: 0.210

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES 20:17 CLT to 06:57 CLT
  • Beginning of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/16 23:17'     Local time = 20:17
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
E6-A                  ra 14:45:33  dec -45:15:34  secz 1.4
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.1
  • Obstac
  • morning standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/17 9:37'     Local time = 06:37
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

  •  Camera and Telescope - OK.
  •  Last Night - Dome open for a couple of hours producing data with low transmission and poor seeing that triggered SN field observations. Closed rest of time due to weather.
  • DESDM & DQ - 2 SN-field g-band images passed quality cuts. Processing in process. MD5 checksum problem.
  • Forecast/Plan for Tonight - ObsTac run. LIGO turned on and we have agreement to follow their triggers. 6:30 pm Chile time is deadline for LIGO to provide us with JSON script. Would be in last two hours of the night. Need to change PropID: 2015B-0187.

Other Notes

  • When were the SN fields last observered?
    hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
    SN-X3    long_i    2015-09-08 08:12:34.924511+00:00
    SN-X3    long_z    2015-09-08 08:46:41.064389+00:00
    SN-C3    long_r    2015-09-11 07:46:29.777327+00:00
    SN-S1    short    2015-09-11 09:09:54.635815+00:00
    SN-S2    short    2015-09-12 07:22:38.092039+00:00
    SN-C3    long_z    2015-09-12 07:43:10.006001+00:00
    SN-C3    long_i    2015-09-12 08:50:47.646672+00:00
    SN-C2    short    2015-09-12 09:25:00.543599+00:00
    SN-E2    short    2015-09-13 04:26:58.318843+00:00
    SN-X1    short    2015-09-13 04:52:28.072487+00:00
    SN-X3    long_r    2015-09-13 05:12:03.453772+00:00
    SN-C1    short    2015-09-13 05:36:05.207316+00:00
    SN-C3    long_g    2015-09-13 05:55:43.368258+00:00
    SN-X3    long_g    2015-09-13 06:10:54.455087+00:00
    SN-X2    short    2015-09-13 07:09:42.924741+00:00
    SN-E1    short    2015-09-16 01:43:57.712435+00:00