Project

General

Profile

SV Notes for MJD 56551 (starting evening of Sept 15, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Plazas Soumagnac MacCrann Honscheid / Eliot

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56552, date 20130916, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:45 CLST     UT 19:45     SidTim 14:46
Sunset     19:43 CLST  22:43 UT   SidTim  266 deg  
Eve. -10   20:18 CLST  23:18 UT   SidTim  275 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:36 CLST  23:36 UT   SidTim  279 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   SidTim  284 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:37 CLST  04:37 UT   SidTim  354 deg  
Moonset    06:05 CLST  09:05 UT   SidTim   61 deg  
Morn -18   06:20 CLST  09:20 UT   SidTim   65 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:37 CLST  09:37 UT   SidTim   70 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:57 CLST  09:57 UT   SidTim   74 deg  
Sunrise    07:32 CLST  10:32 UT   SidTim   83 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 324.6, Dec -8.3 Phase: 0.823

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links Clear + cold

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

Afternoon:
  1. Standard bias and dome flat sequence during afternoon.
  2. Dome open for temperature equilibration at earliest appropriate time
Prioritization for tonight's observations:
  1. Standard stars if photometric.
  2. Make sure obstac keeps filling queue and SISPI keeps loading exposures.
  3. Monitor pointing and offseting behavior during SN observations.
  4. Morning standards, if photometric

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments:
  1. Monitor ObsTac.
    Expect lots of y-band because the Moon is right in the face the first half
    of night. Later i and z, and SN fields if seeing is bad.