Project

General

Profile

09152018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58377 (starting evening of September 15, 2018)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Dragan Huterer (observer 1)
  • Spencer Everett (observer 2)
  • Spencer Everett (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Humberto Orrego - Obs. Support
  • Javier Roja - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 58377, date 20180915, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:42 CLST  22:42 UT   17:38  264 deg  
Eve. -10   20:17 CLST  23:17 UT   18:13  273 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:35 CLST  23:35 UT   18:32  278 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:54 CLST  23:54 UT   18:50  282 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:38 CLST  04:38 UT   23:34  354 deg  
Moonset    01:42 CLST  04:42 UT   23:38  354 deg  
Morn -18   06:21 CLST  09:21 UT   04:17   64 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:38 CLST  09:38 UT   04:35   69 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:58 CLST  09:58 UT   04:55   74 deg  
Sunrise    07:33 CLST  10:33 UT   05:29   82 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 252.9, Dec -18.1 Phase: 0.428

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:38 CLT to 06:58 CLT
  • Standards
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover (griz)

UT Date = '2018/09/15 4:38'     Local time = 01:38
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.7
  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • If bad seeing (>1.6 arcsec) and clear: Photosweeps
  • If really bad seeing (>2.0 arcsec) or not clear: Narrowband
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
Standards for Morning Twilight 

MaxVis                ra 06:30:00  dec -58:45:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from (yesterday's) 4PM Meeting

None

Other Notes