Project

General

Profile

09142018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58376 (starting evening of September 14, 2018)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Dragan Huterer (observer 1)
  • Spencer Everett (observer 2)
  • Spencer Everett (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Humberto Orrego - Obs. Support
  • Javier Roja - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 58376, date 20180914, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:52 CLST     UT 18:52     SidTim 13:45
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:42 CLST  22:42 UT   17:34  264 deg  
Eve. -10   20:16 CLST  23:16 UT   18:09  272 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:35 CLST  23:35 UT   18:27  277 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:54 CLST  23:54 UT   18:46  282 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    00:46 CLST  03:46 UT   22:38  340 deg  
Midpoint   01:38 CLST  04:38 UT   23:30  352 deg  
Morn -18   06:22 CLST  09:22 UT   04:15   64 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:40 CLST  09:40 UT   04:32   68 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:00 CLST  10:00 UT   04:52   73 deg  
Sunrise    07:34 CLST  10:34 UT   05:27   82 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 240.1, Dec -15.5 Phase: 0.362

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:38 CLT to 07:00 CLT
  • Standards
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover (griz)

UT Date = '2018/09/15 4:38'     Local time = 01:38
E2-A                  ra 04:03:00  dec -44:41:45  secz 1.7
  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • If bad seeing (>1.6 arcsec) and clear: Photosweeps
  • If really bad seeing (>2.0 arcsec) or not clear: Narrowband
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
Standards for Morning Twilight 

UT Date = '2018/09/15 9:40'     Local time = 06:40
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from (yesterday's) 4PM Meeting

TBD

Other Notes