Project

General

Profile

09142015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57280 (starting evening of Sep 14, 2015)

DES has the full night.

Observers

  • Devon Hollowood (observer 1)
  • Ofer Lahav (observer 2)
  • Alex Kim (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57280, date 20150914, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 10:59 CLST     UT 13:59     SidTim 08:50
Sunset     19:41 CLST  22:41 UT   SidTim  263 deg  
Eve. -10   20:16 CLST  23:16 UT   SidTim  272 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:35 CLST  23:35 UT   SidTim  276 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:53 CLST  23:53 UT   SidTim  281 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    20:55 CLST  23:55 UT   SidTim  282 deg  
Midpoint   01:38 CLST  04:38 UT   SidTim  352 deg  
Morn -18   06:23 CLST  09:23 UT   SidTim   64 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:40 CLST  09:40 UT   SidTim   68 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:00 CLST  10:00 UT   SidTim   73 deg  
Sunrise    07:35 CLST  10:35 UT   SidTim   82 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 191.9, Dec -3.5 Phase: 0.093

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES 20:16 CLT to 07:00 CLT
  • Beginning of night standards [Yzirg ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/13 23:16'     Local time = 20:16
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
E6-A                  ra 14:45:33  dec -45:15:34  secz 1.3
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.1
  • Obstac
  • morning standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/14 9:40'     Local time = 06:40
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

 * Camera and Telescope - No problems. Ready for dome flats. Issue with "Observer" field that had over 100 characters, Problem was that role was included (Observer 1, Observer 2, ...) To avoid this problem use only first name initials.
 * Last Night - No supernova fields taken, early data cloudy, then dome closed due to clouds. PTC calibrations.
 * DESDM & DQ - Data transferred, not yet ingested. Expected to be poor.
 * Forecast/Plan for Tonight - Currently fully overcast and forecast calls for more of the same. Plan for DECal run.
  • Eric - Obstac 2 teaks implemented, may be installed tomorrow. Examining weather history. Surface temperature of the ocean.
  • We will have a call tomorrow with Eric at 4pm.

Other Notes

  • When were the SN fields last observered?
    hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
    SN-X3    long_i    2015-09-08 08:12:34.924511+00:00
    SN-X3    long_z    2015-09-08 08:46:41.064389+00:00
    SN-C3    long_r    2015-09-11 07:46:29.777327+00:00
    SN-S1    short    2015-09-11 09:09:54.635815+00:00
    SN-E1    short    2015-09-12 02:00:46.752304+00:00
    SN-S2    short    2015-09-12 07:22:38.092039+00:00
    SN-C3    long_z    2015-09-12 07:43:10.006001+00:00
    SN-C3    long_i    2015-09-12 08:50:47.646672+00:00
    SN-C2    short    2015-09-12 09:25:00.543599+00:00
    SN-E2    short    2015-09-13 04:26:58.318843+00:00
    SN-X1    short    2015-09-13 04:52:28.072487+00:00
    SN-X3    long_r    2015-09-13 05:12:03.453772+00:00
    SN-C1    short    2015-09-13 05:36:05.207316+00:00
    SN-C3    long_g    2015-09-13 05:55:43.368258+00:00
    SN-X3    long_g    2015-09-13 06:10:54.455087+00:00
    SN-X2    short    2015-09-13 07:09:42.924741+00:00