Project

General

Profile

SV Notes for MJD 56550 (starting evening of Sept 14, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Eifler Soumagnac Plazas Honscheid / Eliot

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56550, date 20130914, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 22:08 CLST     UT 01:08     SidTim 20:01
Sunset     19:42 CLST  22:42 UT   SidTim  264 deg  
Eve. -10   20:16 CLST  23:16 UT   SidTim  272 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:35 CLST  23:35 UT   SidTim  277 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:54 CLST  23:54 UT   SidTim  282 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:38 CLST  04:38 UT   SidTim  353 deg  
Moonset    04:35 CLST  07:35 UT   SidTim   37 deg  
Morn -18   06:22 CLST  09:22 UT   SidTim   64 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:39 CLST  09:39 UT   SidTim   68 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:59 CLST  09:59 UT   SidTim   73 deg  
Sunrise    07:34 CLST  10:34 UT   SidTim   82 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 295.8, Dec -15.8 Phase: 0.672
<pre>
h2. Weather Conditions 

*[[Tololo Weather Links]] Clear during the first half of night.  Humid, seeing is bad.  

h2. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

Afternoon:
# Standard bias and dome flat sequence during afternoon.
# Dome open for temperature equilibration at earliest appropriate time

Prioritization for tonight's observations:
# Standard stars if photometric.
# Make sure obstac keeps filling queue and SISPI keeps loading exposures.
# Monitor pointing and offseting behavior during SN observations.
# Morning standards, if photometric

h2. Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments:
# Monitor ObsTac.
Expect lots of y-band because the Moon is right in the face the first half
 of night. Later i, and Z.  SN: X3r, C3r, C3i if seeing is bad.