Project

General

Profile

09122014

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 56913 (starting evening of Sept 12, 2014)

Observers

  • Elmer Fidel Luque Canaza
  • Basilio Santiago
  • Andres A. Plazas

CTIO staff

  • Manuel Hernandez
  • Alberto Alvarez

Almanac [via kenttools>ephem]

mjd 56913, date 20140912, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:41 CLST UT 18:41 SidTim 13:25
Sunset 19:40 CLST 22:40 UT SidTim 261 deg
Eve. -10 20:15 CLST 23:15 UT SidTim 270 deg Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14 20:34 CLST 23:34 UT SidTim 274 deg Begin obstac
Eve. -18 20:53 CLST 23:53 UT SidTim 279 deg Last chance standards
Moonrise 23:41 CLST 02:41 UT SidTim 321 deg
Midpoint 01:39 CLST 04:39 UT SidTim 351 deg
Morn -18 06:25 CLST 09:25 UT SidTim 62 deg Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std 06:42 CLST 09:42 UT SidTim 67 deg End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10 07:02 CLST 10:02 UT SidTim 72 deg
Sunrise 07:37 CLST 10:37 UT SidTim 80 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 44.6, Dec 14.9 Phase: 0.716

Weather Conditions

Low clouds overhead (4:50 pm CTIO time). High wind speed (about 20 mph) at the beginning of the night.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

If cloudy, we will do DECal calibrations (D. James).

  1. Afternoon calibrations (started already)
  2. (if not cloudy) Standards
  3. (If not cloudy) ObsTac: wide dark survey (g,r), SN fields, wide survey (z, Y). Similar as yesterday.
  4. End of night calibrations