Project

General

Profile

09112018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58372 (starting evening of September 11, 2018)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Taylor Hutchison (observer 1)
  • Jen Marshall/Travis Prochaska (observer 2)
  • Steve Kent (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 58373, date 20180911, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:51 CLST     UT 18:51     SidTim 13:31
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:40 CLST  22:40 UT   17:20  260 deg  
Eve. -10   20:15 CLST  23:15 UT   17:55  269 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:33 CLST  23:33 UT   18:14  274 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   18:32  278 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    21:46 CLST  00:46 UT   19:27  292 deg  
Midpoint   01:39 CLST  04:39 UT   23:20  350 deg  
Morn -18   06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   04:07   62 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:43 CLST  09:43 UT   04:24   66 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:03 CLST  10:03 UT   04:44   71 deg  
Sunrise    07:38 CLST  10:38 UT   05:19   80 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 201.9, Dec -3.4 Phase: 0.161

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:39 CLT to 07:42 CLT
  • Standards
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover 

UT Date = '2018/09/12 04:39'     Local time = 01:39
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.7
  • Obstac; photometry sweep program if seeing > 1.6 arcsec and photometric
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
Standards for Morning Twilight 
UT Date = '2018/09/12 06:43'     Local time = 03:43
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps