Project

General

Profile

09112017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58008 (starting evening of Sept 11, 2017)

DES has the entire night for observing

Observers

  • Rich Kron (observer 1/Run manager)
  • Steve Kent (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 58008, date 20170911, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:09 CLST     UT 18:09     SidTim 12:51
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:40 CLST  22:40 UT   17:22  260 deg  
Eve. -10   20:15 CLST  23:15 UT   17:56  269 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:33 CLST  23:33 UT   18:15  274 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   18:34  278 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   01:14 CLST  04:14 UT   22:55  344 deg  
Midpoint   01:39 CLST  04:39 UT   23:20  350 deg  
Morn -18   06:26 CLST  09:26 UT   04:07   62 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:43 CLST  09:43 UT   04:25   66 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:03 CLST  10:03 UT   04:45   71 deg  
Sunrise    07:38 CLST  10:38 UT   05:19   80 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 65.3, Dec 16.7 Phase: 0.601

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Flat sequence. Nightly turn-on Vsub flush, bias, pointing, evening standards, OBSTAC, morning standards, postnight_zeros.
  • evening standards (if clear) [Yzirg ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/09/11 23:15'     Local time = 20:15
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
E6-A                  ra 14:45:33  dec -45:15:34  secz 1.3
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.1
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/09/12 09:43'     Local time = 06:43
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.9
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

*

Other Notes