Project

General

Profile

09112015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57276 (starting evening of Sep 10, 2015)

DES has half the night. Evening until 11:15 CLT, then start again at 4:15 CLT. David James on community support for the in-between time.

Observers

  • Josh Frieman (observer 1)
  • James Lasker (observer 2, run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57277, date 20150911, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:45 CLST     UT 18:45     SidTim 13:24
Sunset     19:40 CLST  22:40 UT   SidTim  260 deg  
Eve. -10   20:15 CLST  23:15 UT   SidTim  268 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:33 CLST  23:33 UT   SidTim  273 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   SidTim  278 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:39 CLST  04:39 UT   SidTim  350 deg  
Morn -18   06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   SidTim   61 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:44 CLST  09:44 UT   SidTim   66 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:04 CLST  10:04 UT   SidTim   71 deg  
Moonrise   07:18 CLST  10:18 UT   SidTim   74 deg  
Sunrise    07:38 CLST  10:38 UT   SidTim   80 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 158.4, Dec 7.2 Phase: 0.081

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES 20:14-23:15 CLT and again from 04:15-06:45. Community time in between.
  • Beginning of night standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/11 23:15'     Local time = 20:15
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.1
E6-A                  ra 14:45:33  dec -45:15:34  secz 1.3
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.2
  • Obstac until handoff (if clear), 11:15pm.
  • Obstac after handoff (if clear), 4:15am. Should hit rest of C3 and X3. C3-z did not get hit last night despite having the largest exposure gap.
  • morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/12 09:44'     Local time = 06:44
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

DIMM Seeing doesn't make it to old environmental page and telemetry viewer...

DESDM & DQ
----------

Few Exposures in wide fields marked bad. Several SN exposures marked bad.

Other Notes

  • When were the SN fields last observered?
    hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
    SN-S2    short    2015-08-31 07:02:06.745208+00:00
    SN-C3    long_z    2015-08-31 07:12:40.316236+00:00
    SN-C3    long_i    2015-09-01 05:55:06.552767+00:00
    SN-C2    short    2015-09-01 06:29:10.391479+00:00
    SN-X3    long_r    2015-09-03 05:41:23.293242+00:00
    SN-C3    long_g    2015-09-03 06:05:22.904042+00:00
    SN-X3    long_g    2015-09-04 05:27:04.768474+00:00
    SN-E1    short    2015-09-08 02:14:29.456176+00:00
    SN-E2    short    2015-09-08 07:31:41.142605+00:00
    SN-X2    short    2015-09-08 07:53:01.095089+00:00
    SN-X3    long_i    2015-09-08 08:12:34.924511+00:00
    SN-X3    long_z    2015-09-08 08:46:41.064389+00:00
    SN-C3    long_r    2015-09-11 07:46:29.777327+00:00
    SN-C1    short    2015-09-11 08:09:38.879227+00:00
    SN-X1    short    2015-09-11 08:50:07.829603+00:00
    SN-S1    short    2015-09-11 09:09:54.635815+00:00