Project

General

Profile

09102018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58372 (starting evening of September 10, 2018)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Taylor Hutchison (observer 1)
  • Jen Marshall/Travis Prochaska (observer 2)
  • Steve Kent (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 58372, date 20180910, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 02:39 CLST     UT 05:39     SidTim 00:15
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:39 CLST  22:39 UT   17:16  259 deg  
Eve. -10   20:14 CLST  23:14 UT   17:51  268 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:33 CLST  23:33 UT   18:09  272 deg  Begin obstac
Moonset    20:43 CLST  23:43 UT   18:19  275 deg  
Eve. -18   20:51 CLST  23:51 UT   18:28  277 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:39 CLST  04:39 UT   23:16  349 deg  
Morn -18   06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   04:04   61 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:45 CLST  09:45 UT   04:21   65 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:05 CLST  10:05 UT   04:41   70 deg  
Sunrise    07:39 CLST  10:39 UT   05:16   79 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 188.9, Dec 1.5 Phase: 0.092

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:40 CLT to 07:42 CLT
  • Standards
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover 

C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.8
  • Obstac until 0300 CLT; reverberation mapping ToO; obstac
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
Standards for Morning Twilight 
UT Date = now     Local time = 06:39
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps