Project

General

Profile

09102017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58007 (starting evening of Sept 10, 2017)

DES has the entire night for observing; IceCube ToO program start

Observers

  • Rich Kron (observer 1/Run manager)
  • Steve Kent (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 58007, date 20170910, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:22 CLST     UT 15:22     SidTim 09:59
Sunset     19:40 CLST  22:40 UT   SidTim  259 deg  
Eve. -10   20:14 CLST  23:14 UT   SidTim  268 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:33 CLST  23:33 UT   SidTim  272 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   SidTim  277 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:10 CLST  03:10 UT   SidTim  327 deg  
Midpoint   01:39 CLST  04:39 UT   SidTim  349 deg  
Morn -18   06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   SidTim   61 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:44 CLST  09:44 UT   SidTim   66 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:04 CLST  10:04 UT   SidTim   70 deg  
Sunrise    07:39 CLST  10:39 UT   SidTim   79 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 51.0, Dec 13.6 Phase: 0.673

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Flat sequence. Nightly turn-on Vsub flush, bias, pointing.
  • evening standards (if clear) [Yzirg ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/09/10 23:14'     Local time = 20:14
SDSSJ1442-0005        ra 14:42:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.7
E6-A                  ra 14:45:33  dec -45:15:34  secz 1.3
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.2
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/09/11 09:44'     Local time = 06:44
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.0

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

*

Other Notes