Project

General

Profile

SV Notes for MJD 56546 (starting evening of Sept 10, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call
Eifler Sanchez MacCrann Honscheid

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56546, date 20130910, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:55 CLST     UT 19:55     SidTim 14:32
Sunset     19:40 CLST  22:40 UT   SidTim  259 deg  
Eve. -10   20:14 CLST  23:14 UT   SidTim  268 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:33 CLST  23:33 UT   SidTim  272 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:52 CLST  23:52 UT   SidTim  277 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    00:51 CLST  03:51 UT   SidTim  337 deg  
Midpoint   01:39 CLST  04:39 UT   SidTim  349 deg  
Morn -18   06:27 CLST  09:27 UT   SidTim   61 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:44 CLST  09:44 UT   SidTim   66 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:04 CLST  10:04 UT   SidTim   70 deg  
Sunrise    07:39 CLST  10:39 UT   SidTim   79 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 236.2, Dec -17.6 Phase: 0.357

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links Some thin cloud cover. Forecast is pretty clear.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

Afternoon:
  1. Standard bias and dome flat sequence during afternoon.
  2. Dome open for temperature equilibration at earliest appropriate time
Prioritization for tonight's observations:
  1. Standard stars if photometric.
  2. Make sure obstac keeps filling queue and SISPI keeps loading exposures.
  3. Monitor pointing and offseting behavior during SN observations.
  4. Morning standards, if photometric

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments:

  1. Monitor SN offsets more closely.
  2. Monitor ObsTac.
  3. Check offsets of SN deep fields from the last few nights.