Project

General

Profile

09092018 » History » Version 2

Jennifer Marshall, 09/10/2018 02:58 AM

1 1 Jennifer Marshall
h1. 09092018
2 1 Jennifer Marshall
3 1 Jennifer Marshall
h2. Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58371 (starting evening of September 9, 2018)
4 1 Jennifer Marshall
5 1 Jennifer Marshall
DES has the second half of the night. 
6 1 Jennifer Marshall
7 1 Jennifer Marshall
h3. Observers
8 1 Jennifer Marshall
9 1 Jennifer Marshall
* Taylor Hutchison (observer 1)
10 1 Jennifer Marshall
* Jen Marshall/Travis Prochaska (observer 2)
11 1 Jennifer Marshall
* Steve Kent (Run Manager)
12 1 Jennifer Marshall
13 1 Jennifer Marshall
h3. CTIO Staff
14 1 Jennifer Marshall
15 1 Jennifer Marshall
* Manuel Hernandez -  Obs. Support
16 1 Jennifer Marshall
* Alberto Alvarez - operator
17 1 Jennifer Marshall
* "Staff calendar":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/cgi-bin/Calcium38.pl?Op=ShowIt&CalendarName=4m_Observing_Schedule
18 1 Jennifer Marshall
19 1 Jennifer Marshall
h3. Almanac
20 1 Jennifer Marshall
21 1 Jennifer Marshall
<pre>
22 2 Jennifer Marshall
mjd 58371, date 20180909, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
23 2 Jennifer Marshall
Current local time 04:56 CLST     UT 07:56     SidTim 02:29
24 2 Jennifer Marshall
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
25 2 Jennifer Marshall
Sunset     19:39 CLST  22:39 UT   17:12  258 deg  
26 2 Jennifer Marshall
Eve. -10   20:14 CLST  23:14 UT   17:46  266 deg  Zeropoint; standards
27 2 Jennifer Marshall
Eve. -14   20:32 CLST  23:32 UT   18:05  271 deg  Begin obstac
28 2 Jennifer Marshall
Eve. -18   20:51 CLST  23:51 UT   18:24  276 deg  Last chance standards
29 2 Jennifer Marshall
Midpoint   01:40 CLST  04:40 UT   23:12  348 deg  
30 2 Jennifer Marshall
Morn -18   06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   04:01   60 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
31 2 Jennifer Marshall
Morn -14   06:46 CLST  09:46 UT   04:18   64 deg  End obstac; begin standards
32 2 Jennifer Marshall
Morn -10   07:06 CLST  10:06 UT   04:38   70 deg  
33 2 Jennifer Marshall
Sunrise    07:41 CLST  10:41 UT   05:13   78 deg  
34 2 Jennifer Marshall
Moon position (deg): RA 175.5, Dec 6.5 Phase: 0.021
35 1 Jennifer Marshall
</pre>
36 1 Jennifer Marshall
37 1 Jennifer Marshall
h3. Weather Conditions
38 1 Jennifer Marshall
39 1 Jennifer Marshall
*  Clear at sunset with a few clouds on the southern horizon.  
40 1 Jennifer Marshall
* "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php
41 1 Jennifer Marshall
42 1 Jennifer Marshall
h3. Observing Plan and Goals for the Night
43 1 Jennifer Marshall
44 1 Jennifer Marshall
* DES second half night: 01:40 CLT to 07:42 CLT
45 1 Jennifer Marshall
46 1 Jennifer Marshall
* Standards
47 1 Jennifer Marshall
48 1 Jennifer Marshall
<pre>
49 1 Jennifer Marshall
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover 
50 1 Jennifer Marshall
51 2 Jennifer Marshall
UT Date = '2018/09/10 4:40'     Local time = 01:40
52 2 Jennifer Marshall
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.8
53 1 Jennifer Marshall
</pre>
54 1 Jennifer Marshall
55 1 Jennifer Marshall
* Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
56 1 Jennifer Marshall
57 1 Jennifer Marshall
* If bad seeing (>1.6 arcsec): reverberation mapping scripts (10 json files), then go back to obstac
58 1 Jennifer Marshall
59 1 Jennifer Marshall
* Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
60 1 Jennifer Marshall
61 1 Jennifer Marshall
<pre>
62 1 Jennifer Marshall
Standards for Morning Twilight 
63 1 Jennifer Marshall
64 2 Jennifer Marshall
UT Date = '2018/09/10 09:46'     Local time = 06:46
65 2 Jennifer Marshall
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
66 2 Jennifer Marshall
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
67 2 Jennifer Marshall
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
68 1 Jennifer Marshall
</pre>
69 1 Jennifer Marshall
70 1 Jennifer Marshall
h3. Useful links
71 1 Jennifer Marshall
72 1 Jennifer Marshall
"Nightsum":http://des-ops.fnal.gov:8080/nightsum/ | "CTIO Night Report":http://www.ctio.noao.edu/noao/node/add/night-report | "DECam Logbook":http://system1.ctio.noao.edu:8080/ECL/decam/E/index
73 1 Jennifer Marshall
"Tololo Environmental Web Page":http://139.229.115.231/web/tololo_frame.html | "Detailed hourly forecast":http://www.yr.no/place/Chile/Coquimbo/Observatorio_Astron%C3%B3mico_Cerro_Tololo/hour_by_hour_detailed.html | "Satellite maps":http://139.229.115.231/web/world_sat.php