Project

General

Profile

09092015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57275 (starting evening of Sep 9, 2015)

DES has half the night. Evening until 11:15 CLT, then start again at 4:15 CLT. David James on community support for the in-between time.

Observers

  • Ross Cawthon (observer 1, run manager)
  • James Lasker (observer 2)
  • Josh Frieman (rm it)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57275, date 20150909, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:59 CLST     UT 20:59     SidTim 15:30
Sunset     19:39 CLST  22:39 UT   SidTim  258 deg  
Eve. -10   20:14 CLST  23:14 UT   SidTim  266 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:32 CLST  23:32 UT   SidTim  271 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:51 CLST  23:51 UT   SidTim  276 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:40 CLST  04:40 UT   SidTim  348 deg  
Moonrise   06:05 CLST  09:05 UT   SidTim   54 deg  
Morn -18   06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   SidTim   60 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:46 CLST  09:46 UT   SidTim   64 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:06 CLST  10:06 UT   SidTim   70 deg  
Sunrise    07:41 CLST  10:41 UT   SidTim   78 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 135.1, Dec 13.4 Phase: 0.201

Weather Conditions

  • It is currently completely overcast. Forecast says it might lighten up a bit at the beginning of the night, but then get completely overcast again.
  • Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES 20:14-23:15 CLT and again from 04:15-06:46. Community time in between.
  • Beginning of night and end of night standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/09 23:14'     Local time = 20:14
SDSSJ1442-0005        ra 14:42:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.7
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.2
  • Obstac until standards (if clear), 6:46am
  • morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/10 09:46'     Local time = 06:46
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

No meeting

DESDM & DQ
----------

Other Notes

  • When were the SN fields last observered?
    hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
    SN-S2    short    2015-08-31 06:51:57.908507+00:00
    SN-C3    long_z    2015-08-31 07:12:40.316236+00:00
    SN-C3    long_r    2015-08-31 08:19:57.652367+00:00
    SN-C1    short    2015-08-31 08:43:03.912035+00:00
    SN-C3    long_i    2015-09-01 05:55:06.552767+00:00
    SN-C2    short    2015-09-01 06:29:10.391479+00:00
    SN-X1    short    2015-09-03 05:22:04.697100+00:00
    SN-X3    long_r    2015-09-03 05:41:23.293242+00:00
    SN-C3    long_g    2015-09-03 06:05:22.904042+00:00
    SN-X3    long_g    2015-09-04 05:27:04.768474+00:00
    SN-S1    short    2015-09-04 06:07:50.563481+00:00
    SN-E1    short    2015-09-08 02:14:29.456176+00:00
    SN-E2    short    2015-09-08 07:31:41.142605+00:00
    SN-X2    short    2015-09-08 07:53:01.095089+00:00
    SN-X3    long_i    2015-09-08 08:12:34.924511+00:00
    SN-X3    long_z    2015-09-08 08:46:41.064389+00:00
    SN-C3    long_g    2015-09-03 06:05:22.904042+00:00
    SN-X3    long_g    2015-09-04 05:27:04.768474+00:00
    SN-S1    short    2015-09-04 06:07:50.563481+00:00