Project

General

Profile

SV Notes for MJD 56545 (starting evening of Sept 9, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Run Manager IT SISPI Expert on Call
Eifler Sanchez MacCrann Plazas Honscheid

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56545, date 20130909, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:37 CLST     UT 18:37     SidTim 13:10
Sunset     19:39 CLST  22:39 UT   SidTim  258 deg  
Eve. -10   20:14 CLST  23:14 UT   SidTim  267 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:32 CLST  23:32 UT   SidTim  272 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:51 CLST  23:51 UT   SidTim  276 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    23:49 CLST  02:49 UT   SidTim  321 deg  
Midpoint   01:40 CLST  04:40 UT   SidTim  348 deg  
Morn -18   06:28 CLST  09:28 UT   SidTim   60 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:46 CLST  09:46 UT   SidTim   65 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:06 CLST  10:06 UT   SidTim   70 deg  
Sunrise    07:40 CLST  10:40 UT   SidTim   78 deg  

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links Variable cloud cover. It might get clearer as the night goes on.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

Afternoon:
  1. Standard bias and dome flat sequence during afternoon.
  2. Restart SISPI instance to obtain new ObsTac version.
  3. Dome open for temperature equilibration at earliest appropriate time
Prioritization for tonight's observations:
  1. Standard stars if photometric.
  2. ObsTac. Monitor if exposures with RA < 0 are completely absent.
  3. Repeat main survey exposures marked bad.
  4. Monitor pointing and offseting behavior during SN observations.
  5. Morning standards, if photometric

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments:

  1. Monitor CCD temperature telemetry.
  2. Monitor SN offsets more closely.
  3. Monitor ObsTac.
  4. Obstac would start off with wide field Y-band until 3 SN deep fields come up
    because of deadman. Expect 20" accumulated bad pointing