Project

General

Profile

09082018

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 58370 (starting evening of September 8, 2018)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Taylor Hutchison (observer 1)
  • Jen Marshall/Travis Prochaska (observer 2)
  • Steve Kent (Run Manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 58370, date 20180908, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:42 CLST     UT 18:42     SidTim 13:11
Event      Local-Time  Greenwich  Sidereal-Time
Sunset     19:38 CLST  22:38 UT   17:07  257 deg  
Eve. -10   20:13 CLST  23:13 UT   17:42  266 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:32 CLST  23:32 UT   18:00  270 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:50 CLST  23:50 UT   18:19  275 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:40 CLST  04:40 UT   23:09  347 deg  
Morn -18   06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   03:59   60 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn -14   06:47 CLST  09:47 UT   04:16   64 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:07 CLST  10:07 UT   04:36   69 deg  
Sunrise    07:42 CLST  10:42 UT   05:11   78 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 161.6, Dec 11.3 Phase: 0.053

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES second half night: 01:40 CLT to 07:42 CLT
  • Standards
One standard for Middle-of-Night Switchover 

UT Date = '2018/09/09 4:40'     Local time = 01:40
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.8
  • Obstac as long as seeing is < 1.6 arcsec
  • If bad seeing (>1.6 arcsec): reverberation mapping scripts (10 json files), then go back to obstac
  • Morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]:
Standards for Morning Twilight 

UT Date = '2018/09/09 9:47'     Local time = 06:47
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from (yesterday's) 4PM Meeting

  • No SN. Three new types of supplementary observations; json files to be uploaded/sent.
  • WOD: Ferocious kangarabbits.

Other Notes