Project

General

Profile

09082016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57640 (starting evening of September 8, 2016)

DES observes all night.

Observers

  • Kyle Story (observer 1)
  • Mei-Yu Wang (observer 2)
  • Rich Kron (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

prompt> ephem 57640
mjd 57640, date 20160908, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 23:31 CLST     UT 02:31     SidTim 21:02
Sunset     19:39 CLST  22:39 UT   SidTim  257 deg
Eve. -10   20:13 CLST  23:13 UT   SidTim  266 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:32 CLST  23:32 UT   SidTim  271 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:51 CLST  23:51 UT   SidTim  275 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:40 CLST  04:40 UT   SidTim  348 deg
Moonset    02:01 CLST  05:01 UT   SidTim  353 deg
Morn -18   06:29 CLST  09:29 UT   SidTim   60 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:46 CLST  09:46 UT   SidTim   64 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:06 CLST  10:06 UT   SidTim   69 deg
Sunrise    07:41 CLST  10:41 UT   SidTim   78 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 252.1, Dec -16.7 Phase: 0.457

Weather Conditions
  • Forecast calls for clear during the day, clouds starting around 19h local time. Clouds expected to persist through the night. Forecast calls for light winds from the south.
  • Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Full night of DES observing in Y4
  • Evening standards: [Yzirg ordered scripts]
    UT Date = '2016/09/08 23:13'     Local time = 20:13
    SDSSJ1442-0005        ra 14:42:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.6
    SF1615_CCD_35         ra 16:18:14  dec +00:05:08  secz 1.2
    E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.2
    
  • obstac
  • Alhambra field observations
    Observe the Alhambra field in g, r. These observations should be taken immediately after the moon sets.
  • Morning standards: [grizY orderesd scripts]
    prompt> calspec 09:46
    UT Date = '2016/09/09 09:46'     Local time = 06:46
    SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
    SDSSJ0103-0020_CCD_35_gri  ra 01:03:22  dec -00:15:48  secz 1.7 <-- use gri Json file
    SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
    

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Quote of the day: "Yesterday was Brazilian Independence Day!"

Other Notes