Project

General

Profile

0908015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57274 (starting evening of Sep 8, 2015)

DES has half the night. Evening until 11:30 CLT, then start again at 4:30 CLT. David James on community support for the in-between time.

Observers

  • Ross Cawthon (observer 1, run manager)
  • James Lasker (observer 2)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57274, date 20150908, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 16:23 CLST     UT 19:23     SidTim 13:51
Sunset     19:38 CLST  22:38 UT   SidTim  256 deg  
Eve. -10   20:13 CLST  23:13 UT   SidTim  265 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:32 CLST  23:32 UT   SidTim  270 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:50 CLST  23:50 UT   SidTim  274 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:40 CLST  04:40 UT   SidTim  347 deg  
Moonrise   05:25 CLST  08:25 UT   SidTim   43 deg  
Morn -18   06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   SidTim   60 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:47 CLST  09:47 UT   SidTim   64 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:07 CLST  10:07 UT   SidTim   69 deg  
Sunrise    07:42 CLST  10:42 UT   SidTim   78 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 122.8, Dec 15.7 Phase: 0.265

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES 20:13-23:30 CLT and again from 04:30-06:47. Community time in between.
  • Beginning of night and end of night standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/08 23:13'     Local time = 20:13
SDSSJ1442-0005        ra 14:42:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.6
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.2
  • Obstac until standards (if clear), 6:47am
  • morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/09 09:47'     Local time = 06:47
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

No immediate concerns. Long term planning of different issues.

DESDM & DQ
----------
DESDM had an issue so data will be uploaded again before observing.

Other Notes

  • When were the SN fields last observered?
    hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
    SN-S2    short    2015-08-31 06:51:57.908507+00:00
    SN-C3    long_z    2015-08-31 07:12:40.316236+00:00
    SN-C3    long_r    2015-08-31 08:19:57.652367+00:00
    SN-C1    short    2015-08-31 08:43:03.912035+00:00
    SN-C3    long_i    2015-09-01 05:55:06.552767+00:00
    SN-C2    short    2015-09-01 06:29:10.391479+00:00
    SN-X1    short    2015-09-03 05:22:04.697100+00:00
    SN-X3    long_r    2015-09-03 05:41:23.293242+00:00
    SN-C3    long_g    2015-09-03 06:05:22.904042+00:00
    SN-X3    long_g    2015-09-04 05:27:04.768474+00:00
    SN-S1    short    2015-09-04 06:07:50.563481+00:00
    SN-E1    short    2015-09-08 02:14:29.456176+00:00
    SN-E2    short    2015-09-08 07:31:41.142605+00:00
    SN-X2    short    2015-09-08 07:53:01.095089+00:00
    SN-X3    long_i    2015-09-08 08:12:34.924511+00:00
    SN-X3    long_z    2015-09-08 08:46:41.064389+00:00
    SN-C3    long_g    2015-09-03 06:05:22.904042+00:00
    SN-X3    long_g    2015-09-04 05:27:04.768474+00:00
    SN-S1    short    2015-09-04 06:07:50.563481+00:00