Project

General

Profile

SV Notes for MJD 56544 (starting evening of Sept 8, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call Eyeball Squad QR
Plazas Sanchez MacCrann Honscheid Andreas/March

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56544, date 20130908, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:18 CLST     UT 20:18     SidTim 14:47
Sunset     19:38 CLST  22:38 UT   SidTim  257 deg  
Eve. -10   20:13 CLST  23:13 UT   SidTim  266 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:32 CLST  23:32 UT   SidTim  270 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:50 CLST  23:50 UT   SidTim  275 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    22:48 CLST  01:48 UT   SidTim  304 deg  
Midpoint   01:40 CLST  04:40 UT   SidTim  348 deg  
Morn -18   06:30 CLST  09:30 UT   SidTim   60 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:47 CLST  09:47 UT   SidTim   64 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:07 CLST  10:07 UT   SidTim   69 deg  
Sunrise    07:42 CLST  10:42 UT   SidTim   78 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 208.7, Dec -12.0 Phase: 0.213

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links Variable cloud cover

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

Afternoon:
  1. Standard bias and dome flat sequence during afternoon.
  2. Dome open for temperature equilibration at earliest appropriate time
Prioritization for tonight's observations:
  1. Standard stars if photometric.
  2. ObsTac.
  3. Repeat main survey exposures marked bad.
  4. Monitor pointing and offseting behavior during SN observations.
  5. Morning standards, if photometric

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments:

  1. Monitor CCD temperature telemetry.
  2. Monitor SN offsets more closely