Project

General

Profile

08282016

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57639 (starting evening of September 7, 2016)

DES has the whole night.

Observers

  • Kyle Story (observer 1)
  • Mei-Yu Wang (observer 2)
  • Rich Kron (run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Agilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57639, date 20160907, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 12:07 CLST     UT 15:07     SidTim 09:33
Sunset     19:38 CLST  22:38 UT   SidTim  256 deg
Eve. -10   20:13 CLST  23:13 UT   SidTim  265 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:31 CLST  23:31 UT   SidTim  270 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:50 CLST  23:50 UT   SidTim  274 deg  Last chance standards
Moonset    01:10 CLST  04:10 UT   SidTim  339 deg
Midpoint   01:40 CLST  04:40 UT   SidTim  347 deg
Morn -18   06:31 CLST  09:31 UT   SidTim   59 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:48 CLST  09:48 UT   SidTim   64 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:08 CLST  10:08 UT   SidTim   68 deg
Sunrise    07:42 CLST  10:42 UT   SidTim   77 deg
Moon position (deg): RA 239.8, Dec -14.9 Phase: 0.394 

Weather Conditions

  • A few thin clouds above.

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES 20:31 CLT to 06:48 CLT.
  • evening standard : two normal (high and low airmass) + one calspec
UT Date = '2016/09/07 23:13'     Local time = 20:13
SF1615_CCD_52         ra 16:18:14  dec +00:05:08  secz 1.2  <--calspec std
SDSSJ1442-0005        ra 14:42:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.6
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.2
  • Observe wide field and SN if conditions are suboptimal.
  • obstac
  • An Alhambra 10X gr script (40 minutes) would start 20 minutes before transit: 5:00 UT. Seeing has to be about g<1.2", r<1.1", r < 0.2 extinction
  • go back to obstac
  • morning standards: two normal (high and low airmass) + one calspec
UT Date = '2016/09/08 09:48'     Local time = 06:48
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.8
WD0308-565_CCD_52     ra 03:09:48  dec -56:18:49  secz 1.1<--calspec std
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

When were the last SN fields observed? *

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Quote of the day

Keep it simple.

Other Notes