Project

General

Profile

0907015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57273 (starting evening of Sep 7, 2015)

DES has half the night. Evening until 11:30 CLT, then start again at 4:30 CLT. David James on community support for the in-between time.

Observers

  • Ross Cawthon (observer 2, run manager)
  • David James (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Manuel Hernandez - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57273, date 20150907, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 17:47 CLST     UT 20:47     SidTim 15:11
Sunset     19:38 CLST  22:38 UT   SidTim  255 deg  
Eve. -10   20:13 CLST  23:13 UT   SidTim  264 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:31 CLST  23:31 UT   SidTim  269 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:50 CLST  23:50 UT   SidTim  273 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:41 CLST  04:41 UT   SidTim  346 deg  
Moonrise   04:41 CLST  07:41 UT   SidTim   31 deg  
Morn -18   06:31 CLST  09:31 UT   SidTim   59 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:49 CLST  09:49 UT   SidTim   63 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:09 CLST  10:09 UT   SidTim   68 deg  
Sunrise    07:43 CLST  10:43 UT   SidTim   77 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 110.1, Dec 17.5 Phase: 0.331

Weather Conditions

  • It is cloudy at the moment (~6 PM) but forecast is for it to clear up in the next few hours. Humidity is high and could be an issue, but it's expected to drop as the night goes on.
  • Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES 20:13-23:30 CLT and again from 04:30-06:49. Community time in between.
  • Beginning of night and end of night standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/07 23:13'     Local time = 20:13
SDSSJ1442-0005        ra 14:42:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.6
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.2
  • Obstac until standards (if clear), 6:49am
  • morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/08 09:49'     Local time = 06:49
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

No meeting, same plan as yesterday.

DESDM & DQ
----------

Other Notes

  • When were the SN fields last observered?
    hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
    hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
    SN-E1    short    2015-08-31 05:01:30.515175+00:00
    SN-E2    short    2015-08-31 05:21:00.892304+00:00
    SN-X3    long_z    2015-08-31 05:43:50.081968+00:00
    SN-S2    short    2015-08-31 06:51:57.908507+00:00
    SN-C3    long_z    2015-08-31 07:12:40.316236+00:00
    SN-C3    long_r    2015-08-31 08:19:57.652367+00:00
    SN-C1    short    2015-08-31 08:43:03.912035+00:00
    SN-X2    short    2015-08-31 09:03:41.268213+00:00
    SN-X3    long_i    2015-08-31 09:23:20.835355+00:00
    SN-C3    long_i    2015-09-01 05:55:06.552767+00:00
    SN-C2    short    2015-09-01 06:29:10.391479+00:00
    SN-X1    short    2015-09-03 05:22:04.697100+00:00
    SN-X3    long_r    2015-09-03 05:41:23.293242+00:00
    SN-C3    long_g    2015-09-03 06:05:22.904042+00:00
    SN-X3    long_g    2015-09-04 05:27:04.768474+00:00
    SN-S1    short    2015-09-04 06:07:50.563481+00:00