Project

General

Profile

0906015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57272 (starting evening of Sep 6, 2015)

DES has half the night. First 2 hours, then start again at mid-night +2 hours. David James on community support for the in-between time.
However, weather looks quite poor for tonight, clouds and possible rain in forecast.

Observers

  • Ross Cawthon (observer 2, run manager)
  • David James (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Rodrigo Hernandez - operator
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57272, date 20150906, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:46 CLST     UT 18:46     SidTim 13:06
Sunset     19:37 CLST  22:37 UT   SidTim  254 deg  
Eve. -10   20:12 CLST  23:12 UT   SidTim  263 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:31 CLST  23:31 UT   SidTim  268 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:49 CLST  23:49 UT   SidTim  272 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:41 CLST  04:41 UT   SidTim  345 deg  
Moonrise   03:53 CLST  06:53 UT   SidTim   18 deg  
Morn -18   06:33 CLST  09:33 UT   SidTim   58 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:50 CLST  09:50 UT   SidTim   63 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:10 CLST  10:10 UT   SidTim   68 deg  
Sunrise    07:45 CLST  10:45 UT   SidTim   76 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 97.0, Dec 18.4 Phase: 0.399

Weather Conditions

  • Weather looks quite bad! Clouds and perhaps rain predicted. There is an ongoing clouds and fog right now. Not a total cloud out, but would need to clear up more.
  • Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • DES 20:10-22:10 and again from 03:42-06:50. Community time in between.
  • Beginning of night and end of night standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/06 23:12'     Local time = 20:12
SDSSJ1442-0005        ra 14:42:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.6
E8-A                  ra 20:07:22  dec -44:37:01  secz 1.2
  • Obstac until standards (clear), 6:50am
  • morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/07 09:50'     Local time = 06:50
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

If no observing due to weather, set to do DECal.

DESDM & DQ
----------

Other Notes

  • When were the SN fields last observered?
    hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
    hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
    SN-E1    short    2015-08-31 05:01:30.515175+00:00
    SN-E2    short    2015-08-31 05:21:00.892304+00:00
    SN-X3    long_z    2015-08-31 05:43:50.081968+00:00
    SN-S2    short    2015-08-31 06:51:57.908507+00:00
    SN-C3    long_z    2015-08-31 07:12:40.316236+00:00
    SN-C3    long_r    2015-08-31 08:19:57.652367+00:00
    SN-C1    short    2015-08-31 08:43:03.912035+00:00
    SN-X2    short    2015-08-31 09:03:41.268213+00:00
    SN-X3    long_i    2015-08-31 09:23:20.835355+00:00
    SN-C3    long_i    2015-09-01 05:55:06.552767+00:00
    SN-C2    short    2015-09-01 06:29:10.391479+00:00
    SN-X1    short    2015-09-03 05:22:04.697100+00:00
    SN-X3    long_r    2015-09-03 05:41:23.293242+00:00
    SN-C3    long_g    2015-09-03 06:05:22.904042+00:00
    SN-X3    long_g    2015-09-04 05:27:04.768474+00:00
    SN-S1    short    2015-09-04 06:07:50.563481+00:00