Project

General

Profile

SV Notes for MJD 56541 (starting evening of Sept 5, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager Run Manager IT SISPI Expert on Call Eyeball Squad QR
Elliott Kron [Kent] MacCrann Honscheid Andreas/March

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56541, date 20130905, Site CTIO, UT-offset 4 hr
Current local time 16:57 CLST     UT 20:57     SidTim 15:14
Sunset     18:37 CLST  22:37 UT   SidTim  254 deg  
Moonset    18:53 CLST  22:53 UT   SidTim  258 deg  
Eve. -10   19:12 CLST  23:12 UT   SidTim  262 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   19:30 CLST  23:30 UT   SidTim  267 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   19:49 CLST  23:49 UT   SidTim  272 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   00:41 CLST  04:41 UT   SidTim  345 deg  
Morn -18   05:33 CLST  09:33 UT   SidTim   58 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:50 CLST  09:50 UT   SidTim   62 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:10 CLST  10:10 UT   SidTim   67 deg  
Sunrise    06:45 CLST  10:45 UT   SidTim   76 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 171.3, Dec 0.2 Phase: 0.019

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links Overcast

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

Afternoon:
  1. Standard bias and dome flat sequence during afternoon.
  2. Dome open for temperature equilibration at earliest appropriate time
Prioritization for tonight's observations:
  1. Standard stars if photometric, which appears unlikely.
  2. ObsTac DES survey and SN fields.
  3. Repeat main survey exposure marked bad (mostly from night starting 01/09)
  4. Monitor pointing and offseting behavior during SN observations.
  5. Morning standards, if photometric

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments:

  1. Eric Neilsen sent a list of exposures that we can mark bad based on QR seeing fwhm.
  2. If we get a more complete list of bad exposures from DM, we will use this, otherwise we'll just use Eric's list.