Project

General

Profile

SV Notes for MJD 56540 (starting evening of Sept 4, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call Eyeball Squad QR
Elliott Kron [Kent] Honscheid Andreas/March

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56540, date 20130904, Site CTIO, UT-offset 4 hr
Current local time 17:07 CLST     UT 21:07     SidTim 15:20
Sunset     18:36 CLST  22:36 UT   SidTim  252 deg  
Eve. -10   19:11 CLST  23:11 UT   SidTim  261 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   19:30 CLST  23:30 UT   SidTim  266 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   19:48 CLST  23:48 UT   SidTim  270 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   00:41 CLST  04:41 UT   SidTim  344 deg  
Morn -18   05:34 CLST  09:34 UT   SidTim   57 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:52 CLST  09:52 UT   SidTim   61 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   06:12 CLST  10:12 UT   SidTim   66 deg  
Moonrise   06:42 CLST  10:42 UT   SidTim   74 deg  
Sunrise    06:46 CLST  10:46 UT   SidTim   75 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 159.4, Dec 4.4 Phase: 0.043

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links Overcast

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

Afternoon:
  1. New version of FCM - bug fixes.
  2. Standard bias and dome flat sequence during afternoon.
  3. Dome open for temperature equilibration at earliest appropriate time
Prioritization for tonight's observations:
  1. Standard stars if photometric, which appears unlikely.
  2. ObsTac DES survey and SN fields (if any)
  3. Repeat bad SN fields (C3 g-band), by marking these bad. Test this procedure.
  4. Monitor pointing and offseting behavior during SN observations.
  5. Morning standards, if photometric

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments:

  1. Discussed procedure for marking exposures bad. Decided we'll try repeating at least the bad SN observations (C3 g-band)