Project

General

Profile

0903015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57269 (starting evening of Sep 3, 2015)

DES has the second half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night.

Observers

  • Ross Cawthon (observer 2, run manager)
  • James Lasker (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Rodrigo Hernandez - operator
  • David James - Scientific Support (first half of the night)
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57269, date 20150903, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:50 CLST     UT 18:50     SidTim 12:57
Sunset     19:36 CLST  22:36 UT   SidTim  251 deg  
Eve. -10   20:10 CLST  23:10 UT   SidTim  260 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:29 CLST  23:29 UT   SidTim  264 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:48 CLST  23:48 UT   SidTim  269 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   01:05 CLST  04:05 UT   SidTim  333 deg  
Midpoint   01:42 CLST  04:42 UT   SidTim  342 deg  
Morn -18   06:36 CLST  09:36 UT   SidTim   56 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:53 CLST  09:53 UT   SidTim   60 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:13 CLST  10:13 UT   SidTim   65 deg  
Sunrise    07:48 CLST  10:48 UT   SidTim   74 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 55.5, Dec 15.6 Phase: 0.612

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Handover from community team at 01:42am local time
  • mid-night standards [grizY ordered scripts]

UT Date = '2015/09/04 04:42'     Local time = 01:42
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4   #SKIP
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
Stars are all >25 deg from moon. As per 2nd half night procedure, we'll do just 2 standards at mid-night.
  • Obstac until standards (clear), 6:54am
  • morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/04 09:53'     Local time = 06:53
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2  #SKIP

SDSSJ0320 is <20 degrees from moon. To also get 3 standards for end of night, we plan to add:

SDSSJ0200-0000
and
C26202/HST

same morning standards as last night.

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

DESDM & DQ
----------
Some question over whether SN-X is ok. The g band image hasn't processed, perhaps due to too much background light from moon. Waiting until later to hear update, and will re-update from DESDM before observing tonight.

Other Notes

  • When were the SN fields last observered?
    hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
    SN-X3    long_g    2015-08-23 07:44:44.665076+00:00
    SN-S1    short    2015-08-24 08:35:30.958022+00:00
    SN-E1    short    2015-08-31 05:01:30.515175+00:00
    SN-E2    short    2015-08-31 05:21:00.892304+00:00
    SN-X3    long_z    2015-08-31 05:43:50.081968+00:00
    SN-S2    short    2015-08-31 06:51:57.908507+00:00
    SN-C3    long_z    2015-08-31 07:12:40.316236+00:00
    SN-C3    long_r    2015-08-31 08:19:57.652367+00:00
    SN-C1    short    2015-08-31 08:43:03.912035+00:00
    SN-X2    short    2015-08-31 09:03:41.268213+00:00
    SN-X3    long_i    2015-08-31 09:23:20.835355+00:00
    SN-C3    long_i    2015-09-01 05:55:06.552767+00:00
    SN-C2    short    2015-09-01 06:29:10.391479+00:00
    SN-X1    short    2015-09-03 05:22:04.697100+00:00
    SN-X3    long_r    2015-09-03 05:41:23.293242+00:00
    SN-C3    long_g    2015-09-03 06:05:22.904042+00:00