Project

General

Profile

SV Notes for MJD 56539 (starting evening of Sept 3, 2013)

Observers

Observer 1 Observer 2 Run Manager SISPI Expert on Call Eyeball Squad QR
Elliott Kron [Kent] Honscheid Andreas/March

DECam Configuration and Setup

SISPI Configuration File DES.ini
DECam constants DECAM:CURRENT
Proposal ID 2012B-0001
Image Processing (Calibration) NCSA
Image Processing (First Cut) NCSA

Almanac
mjd 56539, date 20130903, Site CTIO, UT-offset 4 hr
Current local time 17:21 CLST     UT 21:21     SidTim 15:31
Sunset     18:36 CLST  22:36 UT   SidTim  252 deg  
Eve. -10   19:11 CLST  23:11 UT   SidTim  260 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   19:29 CLST  23:29 UT   SidTim  265 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   19:48 CLST  23:48 UT   SidTim  270 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   00:42 CLST  04:42 UT   SidTim  343 deg  
Morn -18   05:36 CLST  09:36 UT   SidTim   56 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   05:53 CLST  09:53 UT   SidTim   61 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Moonrise   06:07 CLST  10:07 UT   SidTim   64 deg  
Morn -10   06:13 CLST  10:13 UT   SidTim   66 deg  
Sunrise    06:48 CLST  10:48 UT   SidTim   74 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 147.6, Dec 8.3 Phase: 0.103

Weather Conditions

*Tololo Weather Links Variable cloudiness at sunset

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

Afternoon:
  1. Install new kentools and SISPI (trunk 9739)
  2. Standard bias and dome flat sequence during afternoon
  3. Dome open for temperature equilibration at earliest appropriate time,
  4. If SN respond in time, declare any bad observations from previous nights
Prioritization for tonight's observations:
  1. Standard stars if photometric
  2. ObsTac DES survey and SN fields (if any)
  3. Monitor pointing and offseting behavior during SN observations.
  4. Morning standards, if photometric

Notes from the 4PM Meeting and Additional Comments