Project

General

Profile

09022017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57999 (starting evening of Sept 2, 2017)

DES has the entire night for observing

Observers

  • Jessie Muir (observer 2/Run manager)
  • William Wester (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57999, date 20170902, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:19 CLST     UT 18:19     SidTim 12:25
Sunset     19:35 CLST  22:35 UT   SidTim  250 deg  
Eve. -10   20:10 CLST  23:10 UT   SidTim  259 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:29 CLST  23:29 UT   SidTim  264 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:47 CLST  23:47 UT   SidTim  268 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:42 CLST  04:42 UT   SidTim  342 deg  
Moonset    06:07 CLST  09:07 UT   SidTim   48 deg  
Morn -18   06:37 CLST  09:37 UT   SidTim   56 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:54 CLST  09:54 UT   SidTim   60 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:14 CLST  10:14 UT   SidTim   65 deg  
Sunrise    07:49 CLST  10:49 UT   SidTim   74 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 305.8, Dec -17.2 Phase: 0.789

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Flat sequence. Nightly turn-on Vsub flush, bias, pointing.
  • ToO observations under 2017B-0110 to start at -12 deg twilight until the script of exposures stops near telescope secz limits.
  • no evening standards ... it could be these
UT Date = '2017/09/02 23:10'     Local time = 20:10
SDSSJ1442-0005        ra 14:42:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.5
E6-A                  ra 14:45:33  dec -45:15:34  secz 1.2
  • ObsTac configured to help SN but realize our rising footprint is into a substantial moon
  • Morning standards (if clear) [ugrizY ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/09/03 09:54'     Local time = 06:54
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

*

Other Notes