Project

General

Profile

0902015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57268 (starting evening of Sep 2, 2015)

DES has the second half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night.

Observers

  • Ross Cawthon (observer 2, run manager)
  • James Lasker (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • David James - Scientific Support (first half of the night)
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57268, date 20150902, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:46 CLST     UT 18:46     SidTim 12:50
Sunset     19:35 CLST  22:35 UT   SidTim  250 deg  
Eve. -10   20:10 CLST  23:10 UT   SidTim  258 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:29 CLST  23:29 UT   SidTim  263 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:47 CLST  23:47 UT   SidTim  268 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   00:02 CLST  03:02 UT   SidTim  316 deg  
Midpoint   01:42 CLST  04:42 UT   SidTim  342 deg  
Morn -18   06:37 CLST  09:37 UT   SidTim   55 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:54 CLST  09:54 UT   SidTim   60 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:14 CLST  10:14 UT   SidTim   64 deg  
Sunrise    07:49 CLST  10:49 UT   SidTim   73 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 41.2, Dec 12.7 Phase: 0.685

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Handover from community team at 01:42am local time
  • midnight standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/03 04:42'     Local time = 01:42
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.7   Moon separation=14 degrees SKIP
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.4   Moon separation=25 degrees SKIP
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2   Moon separation=53 degrees
Add in:
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.9  moon separation=43 degrees

Plan is for the 2 stars above at mid-night. Away from moon and high/low airmass. Same 2 stars David James used last night.
  • Obstac until standards (clear), 6:54am
  • morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/03 09:54'     Local time = 06:54
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

DESDM & DQ
----------
No SN yesterday. Performed Fetch and Load today to update ObsTac on bad images from last few nights.

Other Notes

  • When were the SN fields last observered?
    hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
    SN-C3    long_g    2015-08-21 07:59:35.199632+00:00
    SN-X1    short    2015-08-23 06:05:35.830077+00:00
    SN-X3    long_g    2015-08-23 07:44:44.665076+00:00
    SN-X3    long_r    2015-08-23 07:57:53.560026+00:00
    SN-S1    short    2015-08-24 08:35:30.958022+00:00
    SN-E1    short    2015-08-31 05:01:30.515175+00:00
    SN-E2    short    2015-08-31 05:21:00.892304+00:00
    SN-X3    long_z    2015-08-31 05:43:50.081968+00:00
    SN-S2    short    2015-08-31 06:51:57.908507+00:00
    SN-C3    long_z    2015-08-31 07:12:40.316236+00:00
    SN-C3    long_r    2015-08-31 08:19:57.652367+00:00
    SN-C1    short    2015-08-31 08:43:03.912035+00:00
    SN-X2    short    2015-08-31 09:03:41.268213+00:00
    SN-X3    long_i    2015-08-31 09:23:20.835355+00:00
    SN-C3    long_i    2015-09-01 05:55:06.552767+00:00
    SN-C2    short    2015-09-01 06:29:10.391479+00:00