Project

General

Profile

09012017 » History » Version 1

Version 1/2 - Next » - Current version
William Wester, 09/01/2017 12:05 PM


09012017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57998 (starting evening of Sept 1, 2017)

DES has the entire night for observing

Observers

  • Jessie Muir (observer 1)
  • William Wester (observer 2/Run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57998, date 20170901, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 13:57 CLST     UT 16:57     SidTim 10:59
Sunset     19:35 CLST  22:35 UT   SidTim  249 deg  
Eve. -10   20:10 CLST  23:10 UT   SidTim  258 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:28 CLST  23:28 UT   SidTim  262 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:47 CLST  23:47 UT   SidTim  267 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:42 CLST  04:42 UT   SidTim  341 deg  
Moonset    05:23 CLST  08:23 UT   SidTim   36 deg  
Morn -18   06:38 CLST  09:38 UT   SidTim   55 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:55 CLST  09:55 UT   SidTim   59 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:15 CLST  10:15 UT   SidTim   64 deg  
Sunrise    07:50 CLST  10:50 UT   SidTim   73 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 292.8, Dec -18.6 Phase: 0.722

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Flat sequence. Nightly turn-on Vsub flush, bias, pointing.
  • Twilight standards / ToO to be discussed at 4PM meeting
UT Date = '2017/09/01 23:10'     Local time = 20:10
SDSSJ1442-0005        ra 14:42:00  dec -00:05:00  secz 1.5
E6-A                  ra 14:45:33  dec -45:15:34  secz 1.2
  • ObsTac
  • Morning standards (if clear) [ugrizY ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/09/02 09:55'     Local time = 06:55
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

*

Other Notes