Project

General

Profile

09012015

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57267 (starting evening of Sep 1, 2015)

DES has the second half of the night. Switchover occurs at the midpoint of the night.

Observers

  • Kathy Vivas (observer 2, run manager)
  • James Lasker (observer 1)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernan Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • David James - Scientific Support (first half of the night)
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57267, date 20150901, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 11:35 CLST     UT 14:35     SidTim 08:35
Sunset     19:34 CLST  22:34 UT   SidTim  249 deg  
Eve. -10   20:09 CLST  23:09 UT   SidTim  258 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:28 CLST  23:28 UT   SidTim  262 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:47 CLST  23:47 UT   SidTim  267 deg  Last chance standards
Moonrise   22:57 CLST  01:57 UT   SidTim  299 deg  
Midpoint   01:43 CLST  04:43 UT   SidTim  341 deg  
Morn -18   06:39 CLST  09:39 UT   SidTim   55 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:56 CLST  09:56 UT   SidTim   59 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:16 CLST  10:16 UT   SidTim   64 deg  
Sunrise    07:51 CLST  10:51 UT   SidTim   73 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 26.9, Dec 8.9 Phase: 0.759

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Handover from community team at 01:43am local time
  • midnight standards [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/02 04:43'     Local time = 01:43
SDSSJ2140-0000        ra 21:40:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2  Moon separation=47 deg
E9-A              ra 22:45:37 dec -44:22:47  secz 1.0  Monn separation=56 deg 
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 2.0
  • Obstac until standards (clear), 6:56am
  • morning standards (if clear) [grizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2015/09/02 09:56'     Local time = 06:56
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6  Moon separation=17 deg
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2  Moon separation=23 deg
C26202/HST              ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.0  Moon separation=44deg

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satelite maps

Notes from the 4PM Meeting

DESDM & DQ
----------
Got the data. Some 140 arrived this morning and are processing now.
All SN are done. All are good according to SN group.
Got yesterday’s dome flats even though under 1st half propid.

Other Notes

  • When were the SN fields last observered?
    hex_name    seqtype    last_complete
    SN-C3    long_g    2015-08-21 07:59:35.199632+00:00
    SN-X1    short    2015-08-23 06:05:35.830077+00:00
    SN-X3    long_g    2015-08-23 07:44:44.665076+00:00
    SN-X3    long_r    2015-08-23 07:57:53.560026+00:00
    SN-S1    short    2015-08-24 08:35:30.958022+00:00
    SN-E1    short    2015-08-31 05:01:30.515175+00:00
    SN-E2    short    2015-08-31 05:21:00.892304+00:00
    SN-X3    long_z    2015-08-31 05:43:50.081968+00:00
    SN-S2    short    2015-08-31 06:51:57.908507+00:00
    SN-C3    long_z    2015-08-31 07:12:40.316236+00:00
    SN-C3    long_r    2015-08-31 08:19:57.652367+00:00
    SN-C1    short    2015-08-31 08:43:03.912035+00:00
    SN-X2    short    2015-08-31 09:03:41.268213+00:00
    SN-X3    long_i    2015-08-31 09:23:20.835355+00:00
    SN-C3    long_i    2015-09-01 05:55:06.552767+00:00
    SN-C2    short    2015-09-01 06:29:10.391479+00:00