Project

General

Profile

08312017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57997 (starting evening of August 31, 2017)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Jessie Muir (observer 1)
  • William Wester (observer 2/Run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Claudio Aguilera - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57997, date 20170831, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:14 CLST     UT 18:14     SidTim 12:12
Sunset     19:34 CLST  22:34 UT   SidTim  248 deg  
Eve. -10   20:09 CLST  23:09 UT   SidTim  257 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:28 CLST  23:28 UT   SidTim  262 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:46 CLST  23:46 UT   SidTim  266 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:43 CLST  04:43 UT   SidTim  340 deg  
Moonset    04:36 CLST  07:36 UT   SidTim   24 deg  
Morn -18   06:39 CLST  09:39 UT   SidTim   54 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:56 CLST  09:56 UT   SidTim   58 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:16 CLST  10:16 UT   SidTim   64 deg  
Sunrise    07:51 CLST  10:51 UT   SidTim   72 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 280.0, Dec -19.1 Phase: 0.656

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Single flat sequence
  • Early ToO (two extra Y band exposures at -11)
  • Midpoint standards (if not cloudy) [ugrizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2017/09/01 5:30'     Local time = 02:30  (midpoint + ToO)
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.6 <== just this one
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • ObsTac
  • Morning standards (if clear) [ugrizY ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/09/01 9:56'     Local time = 06:56
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.6
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

*

Other Notes