Project

General

Profile

08302017

Nightly Observing Plan for MJD 57996 (starting evening of August 30, 2017)

DES has the second half of the night.

Observers

  • Jessie Muir (observer 1)
  • William Wester (observer 2/Run manager)

CTIO Staff

  • Hernán Tirado - Obs. Support
  • Alberto Alvarez - operator
  • Staff calendar

Almanac

mjd 57996, date 20170830, Site CTIO, UT-offset 3 hr
Current local time 15:10 CLST     UT 18:10     SidTim 12:04
Sunset     19:34 CLST  22:34 UT   SidTim  247 deg  
Eve. -10   20:09 CLST  23:09 UT   SidTim  256 deg  Zeropoint; standards
Eve. -14   20:27 CLST  23:27 UT   SidTim  260 deg  Begin obstac
Eve. -18   20:46 CLST  23:46 UT   SidTim  265 deg  Last chance standards
Midpoint   01:43 CLST  04:43 UT   SidTim  339 deg  
Moonset    03:47 CLST  06:47 UT   SidTim   10 deg  
Morn -18   06:40 CLST  09:40 UT   SidTim   54 deg  Begin astronomical twilight
Morn Std   06:57 CLST  09:57 UT   SidTim   58 deg  End obstac; begin standards
Morn -10   07:17 CLST  10:17 UT   SidTim   63 deg  
Sunrise    07:52 CLST  10:52 UT   SidTim   72 deg  
Moon position (deg): RA 267.3, Dec -18.7 Phase: 0.590

Weather Conditions

Observing Plan and Goals for the Night

  • Single flat sequence
  • Early ToO (two extra Y band exposures at -11)
  • Midpoint standards (if not cloudy) [ugrizY ordered scripts]
UT Date = '2017/08/31 5:30'     Local time = 02:30 (midpoint + ToO)
C26202/HST            ra 03:32:30  dec -27:46:05  secz 1.7 <== just this one
SDSSJ0200-0000        ra 02:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ2300-0000        ra 23:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2
  • ObsTac
  • Morning standards (if clear) [ugrizY ordered scripts]:
UT Date = '2017/08/31 9:40'     Local time = 06:40
SDSSJ0000-0000        ra 00:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 2.0
SDSSJ0100-0000        ra 01:00:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.5
SDSSJ0320-0000        ra 03:20:00  dec +00:00:00  secz 1.2

Useful links

Nightsum | CTIO Night Report | DECam Logbook
Tololo Environmental Web Page | Detailed hourly forecast | Satellite maps

Notes from 4PM Meeting

*

Other Notes